Skip to main content

Film Studies: Finding Videos

Suggestions for Purchase

If the UD Library collection doesn't have the item you need, please feel free to suggest that we purchase it by clicking here.

Alternatively, consider placing a request via UD's Interlibrary Loan service.  Average delivery time for articles is 2-3 days.  For books, DVDs, and other loans it is 10 days.  For more information on Library Delivery Services, please visit the Delivery Services LibGuide.

Award-winning and Critically-acclaimed Films

Oscars Logo

Introducing FILM FINDERS, the Library guide to view for titles in the Film and Video Collection which have been selected by film organizations and critics for recognition and awards.

New and Notable

Finding Videos (DVD, Bluray, VHS, etc.) at the Library


DELCAT Discovery will help you find videos at the UD Library (including feature films, documentaries, and educational videos).  Once you find a video of interest, note the item's call number (e.g. DVD 4201 or VHS 9827).  Bring this information to the Film & Video Collection Service Desk with a valid UD I.D., and staff will retrieve it for you.  If the item is an eVideo, you may click the 'View Now' link.  If you are accessing an eVideo from off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your UD net I.D. and password.  Please note:  if DELCAT Discovery indicates an item is shelved in the Library Annex, you can place an online request and the item will be retrieved and held for you at the Film & Video Collection Service Desk within one business day.

Use Advanced Search to limit your search by format, or limit after your search using the facets on the left-hand side of the results screen.  Use a title, genre or topic keyword, director or actor name, or simply 'feature films'.

You can further limit your search by format, year, language, etc.  Suggested genere searches are linked below:



  Use the Film and Video Collection's Film Finders guide and New Films guide for additional viewing ideas.

  Items listed in the catalog as 'Media Loan' circulate to undergraduate students for a 3-day loan period (no renewals).  Items listed as 'Restricted Loan' must be viewed in the Library by undergraduate students, and can only circulate to graduate students and faculty.

  Although videos are not publicly accessible for browsing, all titles are indexed in DELCAT Discovery.

  You may check on whether or not the item is on shelf and available for check-out before visiting the Library by clicking on 'Availability' in DELCAT Discovery.  If the video is currently checked out, you will see the date it is due.

  If you encounter a record for an item in DELCAT Discovery that is 'In Process', this means that the video has been purchased by the Library but has not yet been cataloged.  Submit an In-Process Request and you will be notified when it has been cataloged and is available for circulation.

Subject Guide

Meghann Matwichuk's picture
Meghann Matwichuk
Film & Video Collection, Morris Library

Associate Librarian and
Coordinator, Film & Video Collection
(302) 831-1475

Sites to Browse for Viewing Ideas

The following websites may be helpful if you are looking for viewing suggestions.  The Film and Video Collection Department also has a small collection of books on site that may also be helpful.

Close This