Related Guides
- African American History
- British Parliamentary Papers
- Historic Cooking Resources
- Historic Structures in Delaware
- History of Science and Technology
- Material Culture
- Primary Sources
- Women's Studies
- Latin American and Iberian Studies
- Delaware History
- Delaware Historical Maps
- African Studies
- Asian Studies
- Jewish Studies
- Islamic Studies
- Genealogy
- Newspapers
- Art History
- U.S. Congressional Publications & Legislative Process
- History and Delawareana in Special Collections
Research in History at the University of Delaware Library
This guide collates information about the resources available at the University of Delaware Library for conducting historical research. It provides links to books, online databases, electronic journals, websites and other University of Delaware resources.
Click on the tabs above to explore various aspects of historical research. Other guides, listed on the left, focus on related disciplines or more narrow historical topics.
General Resources: online reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks that can quickly introduce you to a concept.
Books/E-Books: search the Library's online catalog and electronic book collections to find material relating to history.
Databases/Articles: databases include articles published in the historical literature as well as full-text collections of primary resources, including newspapers and government documents.
E-Journals: electronic journals in history that are available in the University of Delaware Library.
Archives/Primary Sources: information about archival repositories, libraries, and collections of primary sources.
Images/Video/Maps: links to collections of image, videos and maps for historical research.
Websites: Highly selective list of links to websites relating to the history of the United States and world history.
Organizations: links to national and state historical societies and associations.
Regional Resources: information about institutions relating to history in Delaware, Pennsylvania, and Maryland.
Campus Resources: other departments, programs, and centers on campus and publications relating to history.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Subject Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942
Subjects:African American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies
Ask the Library
Need to Create a Bibliography?
Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds!
Recommendation for Library Purchase
The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.