This is the "Home" page of the "Literacy Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literacy Education  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/literacy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for Books on Literacy Education

For books about literacy education topics, search DELCAT.  Some of the following subjects group literacy education-related books together:

  • Literacy
  • Literacy (study and teaching)
  • Literacy (social aspects)
  • Reading
  • Language Arts

Subject headings are often best searched as phrases.  To search for a phrase, enclose the phrase in quotation marks.

The following call numbers cover some areas of literacy education:

LB1049.9-LB1050.75 Reading (general)

For information on searching for literacy education topics within articles and journals, please see the Education Databases page.

 

General Resources on Literacy Education Topics

Handbook of Reading Interventions - Rollanda E. O'Connor (Editor); Patricia F. Vadasy (Editor)
Call Number: LB1050.5 .H267 2011
Presents evidence-based approaches for helping struggling readers and those at risk for literacy difficulties.

Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity - Lesley Mandel Morrow (Editor); Robert Rueda (Editor); Diane Lapp (Editor); Edmund W. Gordon (Foreword by); Eric J. Cooper (Afterword by)
Call Number: LB1576 .H2337 2009
ISBN: 9781606232460
Addresses various dimensions of diversity that have an impact on literacy achievement.

Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension - Gerald G. Duffy (Editor); Susan E. Israel (Editor)
Call Number: LB1050.45 .H365 2009
ISBN: 1410615855
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Assembles researchers of reading comprehension, literacy, educational psychology, psychology, and neuroscience to document the research on the topic.

Literacy in America - Barbara J. Guzzetti (Editor)
Call Number: REF LC151 .L487 2002
This encyclopedia offers comprehensive information about literacy and related instructional and assessment topics.

 

Literacy Education

Welcome, Literacy Education Scholars! 


This guide provides specialized information for researchers studying literacy education and reading-related topics.

This is not a comprehensive guide, but can serve as a place to begin your research.

For a general overview of resources for education scholars, visit the Education Research Guide.


Core Journals for Literacy Education

  • Reading Research Quarterly
    The leading research journal in the field, each issue of RRQ includes reports of important studies, multidisciplinary research, various modes of investigation, and diverse viewpoints on literacy practices, teaching, and learning.
    Impact Factor: 2.697
  • Scientific Studies of Reading  Icon
    Original empirical investigations dealing with all aspects of reading and its related areas.
    Impact Factor: 1.864
  • Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy
    A literacy journal published exclusively for teachers of older learners. Each issue offers practical, classroom-tested ideas grounded in research and theory. Every issue includes practical ideas for instruction, reviews of student and teacher resources, including young adult literature, tips on how to integrate technology, media, and popular culture in your classroom, and reflections on current literacy trends, issues, and research.
    Impact Factor: 0.728
  • Reading and Writing  Icon
    Publishes high-quality, scientific articles pertaining to the processes, acquisition, and loss of reading and writing skill.
    Impact Factor: 1.444
  • Reading and Writing Quarterly  Icon
    Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal which disseminates critical information to improve instruction for regular and special education students who have difficulty learning to read and write.

Internet Resources on Literacy Education

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Grotti
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Senior Assistant Librarian & Coordinator, Library Instruction
Ph: (302)831-6310
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 

Ask a Librarian

Resources for Literacy Statistics

Here is a selection of online resources for literacy education-related statistics. 

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip