Skip to main content

Politics, Policy, and Government Primary Resources in Special Collections: Manuscripts & Archives

A research guide on political and government collections at the University of Delaware Library Special Collections

Politics, policy, and government primary resources

From the George Handy Bates Samoan Papers

From the Papers of Senator John J. Williams

From the Thomas R. Carper Congressional papers

Politics, Policy, and Government - Manuscripts and Archives

The Politics, Policy, and Government manuscript collections found in Special Collections represent a range of individuals who serve in elected positions at the local, state, and national level. The collections listed in this guide represent current and former members of Congress, Delawareans in elected positions (domestic and foreign), and organizations concerned with public policy and civic affairs.

To obtain further assistance with using archival material, contact a Manuscripts Librarian for further assistance by email, phone, or in person.

Locating manuscript collections

Users can locate manuscript collections by searching within the library's online catalog, DELCAT Discovery, or browsing the list of finding aids on the Special Collections website.

To search within DELCAT Discovery, enter a collection name, keywords, and/or subject headings into the search box and limit your search to Special Collections items only.

Tips and Tricks: Users can search for individuals or creators by using keywords or authorized names and/or subject terms. Authorized names and subject terms can be found by searching through the Library of Congress Authorities website. Click here for a list of suggested subject terms.

Searching by creator

To search by creator, use the prefix “au:” followed by an authorized name.

Searching by subject

To search by subject, use the prefix “su:” followed by an authorized name or subject term.

Ask Special Collections

Have a question?

Ask us!

Special Collections is open Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies and procedures page and the visitor information page.

For more information, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.

Collection Announcements

The latest collection open for research from the University of Delaware Library is the Edward E. "Ted" Kaufman papers.

Edward E. "Ted" Kaufman (b. 1939) represented Delaware in the United States Senate from January 15, 2009 – November 15, 2010. Democrat Ted Kaufman was appointed by Governor Ruth Ann Minner to fill the Senate vacancy caused by the resignation of newly elected Vice President Joseph R. Biden, Jr.; Senator Ted Kaufman did not seek election to the office in a special election for the seat in November 2010. The bulk of the Ted Kaufman papers documents the 22 months he spent in the United States Senate with additional materials related to his earlier political career and post-Senate activities.

Close This