Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Google Scholar
Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Key Interdisciplinary Databases
An index to more than 8,000 scholarly and general interest magazines and journals with links to the full text of articles.
Black Studies Center
This resource brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself
Databases Related to African American Studies
There are many databases that are useful for the study of various aspects of the African American experience. The following are the ones most frequently consulted, but you should also consult the Library Databases page to identify additional discipline-specific databases pertaining to your specific research topic.
Indexes to Older Magazines and Journals
Periodicals Index Online
An online index to older journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international. Every article is indexed and some citations are linked to the full text in JSTOR.