Skip to main content

KAAP400: Research Methods: KAAP 400: Research Methods

Ask the Library

Interlibrary Loan

Books and other materials not held by the UD Library may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is available to UD faculty, students, and staff.

Requests may be submitted by going to Interlibrary Loan.

Clinical Trials.Gov

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.

Conducting Research

There are a variety of types of resources you can use in order to locate relevant research material. Determine what type of research (books, articles, reviews, case studies, videos) you require and then search the appropriate resource (databases or the DELCAT Discovery). Depending upon your research topic, it may be necessary for you to look in resources that are not kinesiology specific, but rather more general health or science based databases.

Search DELCAT Discovery

Search University of Delaware Library and libraries worldwide, for books, articles, DVDs and more.



Advanced Search 

KAAP Databases

Use these databases to locate articles and other resources relevant for KAP topics.

Moving Citations from PubMed to RefWorks

In PubMed

  1. Select the record(s) you wish to send to RefWorks.

  2. Click Send To

  3. Select Citation Manager

  4. Click Create File

  5. Save (do not open) file when prompted (this will be a citations.nbib file).

In RefWorks

  1. Login to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.

  2. Click Import (listed under References at the top of the screen or under Quick Access on the right side of the page) 

  3. Select NLM PubMed from the Import FIlter/Data Source drop-down menu. PubMed will be automatically selected from the Database drop-down menu.

  4. Browse to select the citations.nbib file you saved from PubMed

  5. Click Import.

  6. Your citation(s) will automatically be imported into the Last Imported Folder. 

 

Finding Books

Books are important sources of basic information on a topic, providing necessary definitions, background ifnormation, and statistics. They can provide a foundation for research which can be supplemented by more current information from journal articles. Books also often contain useful bibliographies which may lead to additional research  material. To locate books, use DELCAT Discovery, the library catalog and discovery service.

Sample subject terms that might be of use when searching DELCAT Discovery include:

human mechanics physical education, training
physical fitness sports injuries, rehabilitation
sports, psychology exercise therapy
muscle strength biomechanics, movement
human anatomy human physiology

KAP 400 Handouts

Locate handouts and material related to KAAP400 Library Instruction Sessions.

RefWorks

Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds! Remember to sign up for your RefWorks account prior to the 'second' Library Instruction Session.

Log on to RefWorks

RefWorks Import from PubMed

Use the Instructions above to learn how to import citations into RefWorks from PubMed

Other Citation Tools