Biomechanics and Movement Science

A collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

The Web of Science interface provides online access to the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Databases. These databases are:

Science Citation Index Expanded (1900- )
Social Sciences Citation Index (1956- )
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- )

Online textbooks with case descriptions, procedure videos, images, and lecture resources related to physical therapy.

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

Springer Protocols provides access to 30 years (1980-2010) of scientific protocols, which are step-by-step procedures that enable researchers to reproduce laboratory experiments.

This database contains citations and abstracts to articles appearing in approximately 9,000 periodicals dealing with life science. It covers literature from 1990-present and is updated quarterly.

Biological Sciences Set is an interdisciplinary database which offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

“The world’s most detailed 3D model of human anatomy online.” Primal Pictures features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and textual descriptions by leading specialists supplement the animations and models. Interactive learning modules covering basic human anatomy focus on one or more areas of the body, from a generalist’s or specialist’s perspective. Images are not mere drawings but are derived from real medic

Full-text journals related to nursing & allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, & a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)

A citation & abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works & graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts & humanities, but also includes science, technology & medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)

Interactive mobile app that allows users to view and manipulate body systems, add layers, explore physiological features, and more.
Activation and access information

Provides access to medical, health, and wellness information.

Health and wellness research designed especially for the layperson. It contains indexing to medical journals and consumer health magazines. In addition, the full text of more than 500 health pamphlets, six medical reference books, and articles from more than 1500 general interest magazines is available.

Comprehensive database of more than 8,000 journals covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.

JSTOR is a database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Citations & abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health & related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)

Indexes the international literature of sociology & related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)

Index & abstracts of published literature on social work, human services & related areas. (Coverage: 1980 --)