The DPLA portal searches collections held by US archives, libraries and museums. Some collections from the University of Delaware Library can be found in DPLA collections. Look for the NJ/DE Digital Collective's filter.
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are included
Discover primary source documents from multiple news sources from the 17th through 21st centuries. The platform includes 22 newspaper and periodical collections including The Times, The Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, The Illustrated London News, Punch, and collections including British Library Newspapers, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and more.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. This project is sponsored through the Library of Congress and the NEH.
Contains millions of full-text, authoritative articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major academic areas. It is an excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic and will help to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
GeoRef covers the world’s literature in geology and the geosciences. A comprehensive resource with over 3 million citations, many with abstracts, GeoRef covers the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It includes citations to articles in over 3,500 journals in 40 languages, as well as books, maps, reports, most U.S. Geological Survey publications, and U.S. and Canadian master’s theses and doctoral dissertations.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more – essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. It offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in anthropology as well as local and lesser-known journals.
Coverage: late 19th-century to the present
Includes current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association’s most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. It also includes the electronic archive of all AAA journals as well as links to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications.
Coverage: 1997 to the present for most American Anthropological Association journals; back to beginning publication date for journals in the JSTOR archive
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
An index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences.
Explores human rights and environmental protection issues triggered by inequality, global development and climate change. The films are selected by faculty and are supported by teaching guides. The project launched with films focusing on under-reported stories from Asia and North America and will add stories from other regions over time.
The Global Environmental Justice Collection is part of the Docuseek Complete Collection, also available through the University of Delaware Library.
The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) maintains information about extreme weather and climate events, including lists of billion dollar weather disasters in the U.S., 1980-2001. The NCDC provides also storm and climatological data.