Using Media for Courses
Please note:
- Streaming media is best used for distance education scenarios or for individual, asynchronous viewing. Streaming titles should be checked to verify availability prior to syllabus finalization, especially if the syllabus was created during a prior semester. (Licensing terms for most streaming media is only available on a temporary basis. Expiration dates are included in DELCAT Discovery records.)
- Use of longform streaming media for in-person classroom screenings is generally not recommended. Network issues and other technological variables can lead to inconsistent playback, and resizing the image to fit a large screen can cause image degradation. Please test for quality prior to in-person classroom screenings.
- Physical media is generally the most reliable option for classroom screenings. You may make prior arrangements to schedule media for future use.
- The Library's DVD / Blu-ray / eVideo etc. collection is searchable via DELCAT Discovery. You can search for physical media and streaming titles via the Film & Video Collection homepage.
- If you are an instructor seeking more information about incorporating streaming media into a course, please visit Teaching Online with Media Content via Film & Video or contact Film & Video for assistance.
- If the Library does not own the film you wish to screen, please contact Film & Video and the Film & Video Librarian will research its availability. Please allow as much time as possible for this process.
Streaming Video Collections
Alexander Street Press (ASP) databases allow users to create playlists of videos within the database, or clips from videos, which can be shared with others. Users can create playlists containing various types of documents, images, whole videos, tracks, segments (clips) and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, shared, and all playlists contain their own unique static URL which can be incorporated into course management systems, such as Sakai. Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class viewing/listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use.
- Academic Video Online (AVON)
A multidisciplinary collection of more than 60,000 videos spanning numerous subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
- American History in Video
A collection of 8,000+ videos available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- Docuseek2 Complete Collection
Specializing in social issue and documentary film, covering topics such as environmental studies, healthcare, political science, social sciences, and journalism. Provides exclusive educational streaming video to over 1,200 titles from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
- Theatre in Video
Includes definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, together with film documentaries, online in streaming video. This release brings together over 550 hours of video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors, including 30 of the legendary BBC Shakespeare productions of plays by the world’s most renowned playwright. Also included in this release are live performances, as well as film documentaries, covering the pre-eminent names in theatre.
For more information about changes to the Library's Kanopy subscription (mentioned below), click here.
Kanopy titles are licensed for 1- or (in rare instances) 3-year increments. To see when licenses are set to expire for Kanopy content, you may search DELCAT Discovery for the title and check the Notes field:
- Kanopy Collection
PLEASE NOTE: Beginning in January 2020, with the exception of Media Education Foundation titles, the Library transitioned to a mediated model for Kanopy access. If you are an instructor and plan to teach with a title found on Kanopy, please contact the Film & Video Collection Librarian via the box at the above-right.
- JoVE Science Education
This video collection is designed to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques in a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- JoVE Video Journal
This database is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols in the physical and life sciences. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.