Political and Public Policy Papers Archivist
John Caldwell
He/Him
Contact:
Special Collections
https://library.udel.edu/special/home/contact-us/askspec/
https://library.udel.edu/special/home/contact-us/askspec/
302-831-2229
Contact Information
What is Special Collections?
Special Collections is a department within the University of Delaware Library that collects, preserves and makes accessible rare and unique materials such as:
- Rare Books - books that are valuable, significant and scarce.
- Artists' Books - works of art in the form of a book.
- Fine Press Books - books printed by relatively small, high quality, private publishing companies.
- Manuscripts - a wide range of unpublished materials--such as handwritten and typed letters, documents, photographs, drawings, rough drafts, or maps--that are of personal, political, and cultural importance with enduring research value.
- Archives - records created or received by a person, family, or organization and preserved because of their enduring value. These primary sources are available in various formats, from documents to scrapbooks to contemporary digital images or email.
Finding Special Collections Materials
Printed collections
Published items held in Special Collections, such as books, journals, pamphlets, and broadsides, are searchable in DELCAT. It is possible to limit your search to ONLY materials held in Special Collections by selecting the box next to "Special Collections" under the "Library" tab on the sidebar. Material from Special Collections will display the location information as "Special Collections Non-Circulating."
For additional information on how to search Special Collections in DELCAT, such as how to limit or sort by date, please refer to the DELCAT LibGuide.
Manuscripts and archives
Manuscript and archival collections in Special Collections contain a range of materials--such as documents, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, diaries, photographs, business records, reports, ephemera, audio, video, and born-digital content--from individuals, families, businesses, and organizations. The guides to these collections are called finding aids and they can be browsed and searched on the Finding Aids for Archival Collections website.
For search tips and other help using the Finding Aids for Archival Collections site, please view the appropriate subpage of the Introduction to Special Collections Research Guide:
Not all finding aids or collection descriptions are online, so please contact Special Collections if you need help with your search.
Select Sources from Special Collections
-
Handbook for immigrants to the United States byCall Number: E158 .A58Publication Date: 1871Located in SPEC S26.
-
A practical guide for emigrants to North America, including the United States, Lower and Upper Canada, and Newfoundland; with full information respecting ... matters requisite for the emigrant to become acquainted with before embarking ... byCall Number: E166 .N47Publication Date: 1850Located in SPEC S24.
-
The ocean plague : or, A voyage to Quebec in an Irish emigrant vessel : embracing a quarantine at Grosse Isle in 1847 : with notes illustrative of the ship-pestilence of that fatal year byCall Number: G550 .W62Publication Date: 1848Located in SPEC S24.
-
The American lawyer and business-man's form-book : containing forms and instructions for contracts, arbitration and award, assignments, chattel mortgages, bills of sale, bills of lading, bonds, exchange drafts, promissory notes, orders, receipts, due-bill byCall Number: HF1239 .B3 1851Publication Date: 1851Located in SPEC S20.
-
Speech of Mr. James Dixon, of Connecticut, on the subject of the naturalization laws : and the origin of the native American Party : delivered in the House of Representatives U.S., December 30, 1845. byCall Number: JK2341 .A6 D59x 1846Publication Date: 1846Located in SPEC S28.
-
Naturalization of aliens: or The alien's guide to citizenship; and court manual: containing a sketch of the laws with directions and forms of proceedings, for the naturalization of aliens, in the United States. With notes and an appendix. byCall Number: KF4710 .S37Publication Date: 1847Located in SPEC S24.
-
Island : poetry and history of Chinese immigrants on Angel Island, 1910-1940 byCall Number: PL2658.E3 I84 1980Publication Date: 1980Located in SPEC S24.
-
MSS 0097, Item 0149, Henry M. Snyder notes on AmericanizationThe Henry M. Snyder notes on Americanization consists of two bound volumes of lecture notes taken from a six-week course at the Americanization Institute. The lecture course spanned the dates November 12 - December 21, 1918. These notes are handwritten by Snyder, a teacher from Wilmington, Delaware, from lectures delivered by fourteen guest speakers.
-
MSS 0104, Desegregation of Delaware collectionThis collection was compiled by Abigail Covelli in the 1970s when Delaware was in the process of establishing a desegregation plan for its public school system. The collection contains information dating from 1960-1982 on desegregation in Delaware as well as in other states, with a focus on New Castle County and Wilmington city schools. Included are desegregation proposals, demographic information, advisory literature, workshop information, and studies and reports on the progress and results of desegregation.
-
MSS 0179, Robert H. Richards, Jr., Delaware oral history collectionThe Delaware Oral History collection was a project of the University of Delaware History Department, directed by Dr. John Munroe and funded by Robert H. Richards, Jr.. Interviews with 317 Delawareans conducted between 1966 and 1978 cover the following topics: educators, immigrants, journalism, politics, the University of Delaware, economic hardships of Delawareans in the Depression, and the 1950s relocation of Long Island and New Jersey potato farmers to Delaware that was prompted by postwar suburban developments in those areas. Of particular note are the interviews with Greek, Italian, Ukranian, Polish, Russian, and Jewish immigrants to Delaware. Digital collection available.
-
MSS 0247, Patriotic Order of the Sons of America collectionThe Patriotic Order of the Sons of America collection consists of correspondence, annual meeting reports, printed flyers, and organizational documents dating from 1905-1910. Most items are dated and appear to have been collected by an unidentified member of the Patriotic Order of the Sons of America, Camp #16 in Cheswold, Delaware.
-
MSS 0315, Senator J. Allen Frear, Jr., papers
J. Allen Frear, Jr. (1903-1993) was a politician from Dover, Delaware (Kent County). A member of the Democratic Party, Frear served two terms as U.S. Senator from Delaware. The Senator J. Allen Frear, Jr. papers are primarily those of his congressional career, when he represented Delaware in the U.S. Senate from 1949 to 1960, though the collection also includes personal material from pre- and post-Congressional periods. The collection dates from 1917 to 1963, with bulk of the material dating from 1949 to 1961. The collection consists of correspondence, memoranda, reports, legislation, speeches, clippings, photographs, and audio-visual material. Personal material includes correspondence, class notes, travel brochures and post cards, and memorabilia. -
MSS 0331, Willard Saulsbury, Jr., papersWillard Saulsbury, Jr. (1861-1927), was a prominent Delaware lawyer and a member of a a leading Delaware political family, serving in the United States Senate from 1913-1919 as as President Pro Tempore of the Senate from 1916 to 1919. The bulk of the Willard Saulsbury, Jr., papers belong to Saulsbury himself, dating from 1908-1926 when Saulsbury was at his political and business peak. The collection, consisting of papers, photographs, maps, and political realia, also includes papers and legal documents belonging to Saulsbury's father, items from the settlement of Saulsbury's estate and papers from cases handled by Saulsbury's law firm, which were not closed until after his death.
-
MSS 0361, Everett C. and Louise Staton Johnson papersThe Everett C. & Louise Stanton Johnson papers concern the personal affairs of prominent Delaware publisher and politician Everett C. Johnson (1877-1926) and his wife Louise Staton Johnson (1882-1977). In addition, the collection contains material from their Newark publishing house, the Press of Kells, which brought the Arts and Crafts Movement to the community from 1916 to 1918.
-
MSS 0661, Delaware Afro Latina oral histories collectionThis collection of raw and edited footage of interviews of Newark, Delaware, area Afro-Latinas was created in Spring 2009 by students in a Women's Studies course (WOMS 410) at the University of Delaware.
-
MSS 0734 Marie Jucht Kaufman papersMarie Jucht Kaufman (1930-1994) documented her survival of the Holocaust as a French Jewess through letters written to her son, American writer and artist Alan Kaufman, between 1993 and 1994. The collection also includes photographs of the Jucht family during and after World War II, as well as photocopies of Marie Kaufman's naturalization documents from France, Venezuela, and the United States. Testimonies from Delawareans who were survivors, liberators, and Righteous Gentiles are available in the Halina Wind Preston Holocaust Education Committee Holocaust Testimonies Collection. This committee, under the auspices of the Jewish Federation of Delaware is vital in preserving the history of the Holocaust through public education programs in Delaware.
-
MSS 0781, Philadelphia Custom House recordsThe Philadelphia Custom House records consist of materials generated by and related to the United States Customs Service of the Port of Philadelphia from 1779 to 1932. These records illustrate commercial and shipping interests, as well as foreign trade relations, in the United States from the late eighteenth to the early twentieth century. The materials also highlight the growth of the U.S. Customs Service as it took on new responsibilities and wielded greater authority over the course of the nineteenth century. In addition to documents related to shipping and paying duties, the collection also contains materials related to marine insurance, the internal administration of the Philadelphia Custom House, and the activity of ship crews.
-
MSS 0817, Ships' bills of healthThis collection consists of bills of health from ships traveling from ports in Europe, Asia, Africa, South America, and the Caribbean between 1894 and 1932.
-
MSS 0104, Desegregation of Delaware collection (DIGITAL COLLECTION)The collection consists of reports, articles, and other papers related to desegregation which were collected as resource files by Abigail Covelli. Delaware started a desegregation project in the public school system in the mid 1970s, and the bulk of the collection relates to this project. Included are desegregation proposals, demographic information, advisory literature, workshop information, and studies and reports on the progress and results of desegregation. The main focus is on New Castle County and Wilmington city schools.
-
MSS 0179, Robert H. Richards, Jr., Delaware oral history collection (DIGITAL COLLECTION)The Delaware Oral History collection was a project of the University of Delaware History Department, directed by Dr. John Munroe and funded by Robert H. Richards, Jr.. Interviews with 317 Delawareans conducted between 1966 and 1978 cover topics including the following: educators, immigrants, journalism, politics, and the University of Delaware, Delaware in the Depression, and the 1950s relocation of Long Island and New Jersey potato farmers to Delaware. Includes interview with Nora Thompson Dean, the last native speaker of Lenape language. Interview conducted by C.A. Weslager and Mrs. Dean’s recitation of Lord's prayer spoken in Lenape Delaware Indian language.
-
MSS 0247, Patriotic Order of the Sons of America (DIGITAL COLLECTION)The Patriotic Order of the Sons of America collection consists of correspondence, annual meeting reports, printed flyers, and organizational documents dating from 1905-1910. Most items are dated and appear to have been collected by an unidentified member of the Patriotic Order of the Sons of America, Camp #16 in Cheswold, Delaware.
-
MSS 0661, Delaware Afro-Latina oral histories collection (DIGITAL COLLECTION)This collection of raw and edited footage of interviews of Newark, Delaware, area Afro-Latinas was created in Spring 2009 by students in a Women's Studies course (WOMS 410) at the University of Delaware.
-
MSS 0734, Marie Jucht Kaufman papers (DIGITAL COLLECTION)Marie Jucht Kaufman (1930-1994) documented her survival of the Holocaust through letters written to her son, American writer and artist Alan Kaufman, between 1993 and 1994. The collection also includes photographs of the Jucht family during and after World War II, as well as photocopies of Marie Kaufman's naturalization documents from France, Venezuela, and the United States.