Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.
African Books Collective, founded, owned and governed by African publishers, seeks to strengthen indigenous African publishing through collective action and to increase the visibility and accessibility of the wealth of African scholarship and culture.
The African Conservation Foundation (ACF) is working towards the protection and conservation of Africa's endangered wildlife and their habitats. ACF's goal is to support and link African conservation initiatives, groups and NGOs, with the aim of strengthening their capacity, building partnerships and promoting effective communication and co-ordination of conservation efforts.
AODL provides free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. It brings together tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources. AODL is aimed at a broad international constituency, from university researchers and secondary school teachers to individuals seeking to inform themselves about African people on the continent and in the diaspora.
The African Studies Association is a non-profit organization bringing together institutions and individuals with a scholarly and professional interest in Africa. The resources section of the site provides a wealth of links related to Africa and African Studies.
Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. Electronic resources from Africa are organized by region and country.
Maintained by Columbia University Libraries, AMESA is a free online international directory containing records of individuals who have identified themselves as being involved in any aspect of scholarship in the fields of African Studies, Middle Eastern Studies or South Asian Studies.
The BBC is a global news provider and is well respected around the world for the strength of its journalism and impartiality. The Africa section of the BBC includes country profiles and brief overviews of current topics related to specific countries.
CODESRIA, the Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa, is headquartered in Dakar, Senegal. It was established as an independent Pan-African research organization with a primary focus on the social sciences. Its publications include several journals and monographs, which are available for viewing online.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
The Africana Library has over 4000 posters of historical and contemporary posters from throughout the continent, 366 of which have been fully digitized and are visible online. The posters represent a variety of social, political, and cultural issues, including public health, education, liberation and independence, political campaigns, the anti-apartheid movement, Biafra, Darfur, economics, art, publishing, and music.
The Slave Societies Digital Archive (formerly Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies), directed by Jane Landers and hosted at Vanderbilt University, preserves endangered ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and African-descended peoples in slave societies. SSDA holdings include more than 700,000 digital images drawn from close to 2,000 unique volumes dating from the sixteenth through twentieth centuries that document the lives of an estimated four to six million individuals. This collection contains the most extensive serial records for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World, and also includes valuable information about the indigenous, European, and Asian populations who lived alongside them.
The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.