Area and Global Studies: Islamic

The Afghanistan Digital Library will retrieve and restore works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible.

An Arabic news and current affairs network with several outlets, including the Internet and specialty TV channels in multiple languages. Al Jazeera is accessible in several world regions and is owned by Qatar Media Corporation.

Maintained by Columbia University Libraries, AMESA is a free online international directory containing records of individuals who have identified themselves as being involved in any aspect of scholarship in the fields of African Studies, Middle Eastern Studies or South Asian Studies.

Arab News is Saudi Arabia's first English-language newspaper. Provides coverage of Saudi Arabia, the Middle East, and the world.

Cambridge University Library's collection of Islamic manuscripts dates from the origins of Arabic scholarship in Cambridge in the 1630s when the University founded a Professorship in Arabic and William Bedwell donated a Qurʼān to the Library. Since that time the collection has grown in size and diversity to over 5,000 works, including the collections of Thomas Erpenius, J.L.Burckhardt, E.H.Palmer and E.G. Browne. These manuscripts shed light on many aspects of the Islamic world, its beliefs and learning.

Materials in the Islamic Heritage Project digital collection date from the 10th to the 20th centuries and represent many areas of Islamic History.

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

The Middle East Research and Information Project is a non-profit, non-governmental organization that provides information and analysis on Middle East politics, culture and society.

The Middle East Research and Information Project is a non-profit, non-governmental organization that provides information and analysis on Middle East politics, culture and society.

Palestinian Refugee ResearchNet is a non-partisan project devoted to the dissemination of ideas and scholarly information on the issue of Palestinian refugees and the Middle East peace process.

The Princeton University Library has some 9,500 Islamic manuscripts, chiefly bound paper codices, containing a total of more than 20,000 texts, dating back to early Islam.

RFE/RL journalists report the news in 21 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. Provides uncensored news, discussion, and open debate.

The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.

Published by the American Educational Trust (AET), a non-profit foundation incorporated in Washington, DC by retired U.S. foreign service officers, The Washington Report on Middle East Affairs is a magazine published 9 times per year that focuses on news and analysis from and about the Middle East and U.S. policy in that region.