Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Getting Started
The following databases are good places to begin research on topics relating to African American Studies.
This database provides references, abstracts, or entire articles from more than 8,000 scholarly and general interest periodicals.
Black Studies Center
This resource brings together essential historical and current material for researching the history and culture of African Americans, the Caribbean and the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Biography in Context
An online encyclopedia of biographical information on people from throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas.
A database of in-depth reports that explore a single “hot” topic. Topics cover social issues such as affirmative action, Latinos in America, and the immigration debate.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Contains the complete text of several major newspapers published in the United States since the 1970s. Included are the New York Times and the Washington Post.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
A database comprised of statistical tables and references to other statistical sources. To get statistics that are broken down by ethnicity, select "Data Breakdowns By Race and Ethnic Group.”
African American Studies Databases
Indexes organize information about articles published within magazines and journals and can be the most efficient way to search for research on a specific topic. Oftentimes the index will link to the full-text of the article.
Black Studies Periodicals Database
This index is part of the Black Studies Center which provides historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) indexes hundreds of journals from the U.S., Caribbean and Africa, and includes the full text of many titles.
Race Relations Abstracts
The database covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
African American Biographical Database
The text of and index to black biographical dictionaries published before 1950. This collection contains extended narratives of African American activists, former slaves, educators, church leaders and more. AABD draws its initial content from Chadwyck-Healey’s Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950 and includes descriptive listings of individuals taken from Black Biography, 1790-1950: A Cumulative Index.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
This collection of African American newspapers features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
This database contains the complete text of several major African American newspapers published in the United States and Canada during the 19th century.
Black Abolitionist Papers
Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the U.S. The collection includes articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts and literary works.
Black Drama contains more than 1,000 plays and has detailed information on related productions, theaters, and production companies. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries
A database of thousands of articles published in more than 200 ethnic publications. It is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish.
Includes The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century which is presented in two parts: Organizational Records and Personal Papers that presents 36 civil rights collections of individuals and organizations; and Federal Government Records, which consists of 37 collections from federal government agencies.
Databases Related to African American Studies
There are many databases that are useful for the
study of various aspects of African American Studies.
The following are the ones most frequently consulted, but researchers
should also consult the Library Databases page
to determine whether there are other discipline-specific databases that
are suitable for their given research topic.
For example, researchers pursuing topics related to the health care of African American populations could also consult the
nursing (CINAHL) and medical (PubMed) databases.
Additional Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases also provide information on African American topics.
Back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Web of Science
This database covers all disciplines and indexes more than8000 scholarly journals. It allows for searching for cited authors or cited works and is excellent for discovering highly cited works on a topic.
American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
19th and early 20th century periodicals archived at the Center for Research Libraries. The collection contains labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Citations to articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Periodicals Index Online
An online index to older journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international. Every article is indexed and some citations are linked to the full text in JSTOR.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) / Dissertation Abstracts
he database includes citations for U.S. dissertations from 1861 through to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include brief abstracts.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, try using the UD proxy login page.