Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Can't Find A Journal Online?
You've checked the E-Journals list and your journal isn't listed??? Try searching DELCAT to see if the library has a paper copy instead.
Popular Magazines Online via Google Books
Older issues of a few African American magazines have been digitized by Google. Use Google Books to find titles such as Crisis, Black Enterprise, Black World, Ebony, Ebony Jr., Jet, Negro Digest, Vibe and Vibe Vixen.
Books and other materials not held by the UD Library may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is available to UD faculty, students, and staff.
Requests may be submitted by going to Interlibrary Loan.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Other Online Journals and Journal Collections
African American Historical Serials Collection
Focusing on African American religious life and culture, this collection includes 170 publications (newspapers, magazines, annual reports) from various African American churches and educational and service institutions. Includes the African Methodist Episcopal Church, the African Methodist Zion Church and various Baptist churches. Prominent organizations include Gammon Theological Seminary, the Institute for Colored Youth (Philadelphia), and the Home for Aged and Infirm Colored Persons (Philadelphia). Coverage: 1829-1922.
American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
19th and early 20th century periodicals archived at the Center for Research Libraries. The collection contains labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles.
APS (American Periodicals Series) Online
Contains more than 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
A comprehensive index to, and digitized images of, Harper’s Weekly, the leading illustrated American periodical of the last half of the nineteenth century. Other well-known magazines of the period, such as The Atlantic Monthly, The Century, The North American Review, and Scribner’s , are available in digital editions at the Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals site.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online
Books and periodicals relating to women’s history, 1543-1945.
Making of America
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. The Michigan collection contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints; the Cornell collection, 267 monograph volumes and more than 100,000 journal articles.