GEOBASE: Israel Regional Database
A joint venture of the Social Sciences Data Archive and the GIS Center, Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Monosson in the News
“Fred Monosson, a Boston Jewish multimillionaire, purchased one of the first privately-owned portable color movie cameras in the 1940s, then traveled to Europe and Israel to record the historical formation of the state of Israel in color. He used color films, which nobody else could afford at that time. The films were later stored in a Boston attic and forgotten. His grandchildren recently cleaned out the house to prepare it for sale and were about to throw out the old films, believing that nobody would want them. However, one of the grandchildren decided to first call a friend who was an Israeli movie director.”
National Photo Collection
From the Prime Minister’s Office, State of Israel.
The biggest Jewish community site on the Web.
Online Hebrew Tanach and Shas
Full Hebrew text of the Tanach, Talmud Bavli, and Talmud Yerushalmi, from Snunit at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem for Web browsing.
EYDES: Evidence of Yiddish Documented in European Societies
The Language and Culture Atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry, which recorded Yiddish interviews with Jewish émigrés in American and Israel in the 1960s, is being digitized, cataloged, and transcribed by the German EYDES organization, Förderverein für Jiddische Sprache und Kultur e.V.
Jewish Language Research Website
A resource for linguists, Jewish Studies scholars, and the general public to learn about the speech and writing of Jews throughout history and around the world. It provides information about 14 Jewish languages: Hebrew, Jewish Aramaic, Jewish English, Jewish Malayalam, Judeo-Arabic, Judeo-French, Judeo-Greek, Judeo-Iranian, Judeo-Italian, Judeo-Persian, Judeo-Portuguese, Judeo-Provençal, Judeo-Spanish/Judezmo/Ladino, and Yiddish.
Lilith Magazine Covers Yiddish
Lilith’s archive of Yiddish-related resources, including original translations, reviews, biographies of female Yiddish writers, analysis of gender-bending in Yiddish theater, and more.
Shtetl: Yiddish Language and Culture Home Page
Maintained by Iosif Vaisman, University of North Carolina.
One of the Library of Congress’ American Memory collections.
Yiddish Radio Project
The project is dedicated to rescuing every surviving recording from the golden age of Yiddish radio and to disseminating knowledge and interest in the forgotten radio renaissance these recordings bring to life. Sounds clips are available.
Information for those who are interested in using Yiddish materials in their research. It is arranged in three main sections: reference, research, and events. A new addition is the Yiddish Studies Bibliography, which lists relevant scholarly literature in the field of Yiddish Studies.
The Lost Synagogues of Detroit
Most of the synagogues can be found along or near Linwood and Dexter, south of Davison in the once predominantly Jewish near west side of Detroit. Today all of the synagogues are Christian houses of worship for members of Detroit’s African American community.
Milken Archive of American Jewish Music
An international undertaking to record, preserve and distribute a vast cross-section, comprising hundreds of outstanding pieces of American Jewish music from the past 350 years.
Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts
This project of The Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project, and the Hebrew University Department of Talmud brings together images of major Talmudic manuscripts from libraries throughout the world. As the manuscripts are entirely in Hebrew and Aramaic, the navigation tools of this site are in Hebrew.
Princeton Geniza Project
Links to transcriptions as well as to digitized images from the Taylor-Schechter Collection.
Newspaper published in Atlanta, Georgia.
Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
Over a five-year period approximately 100 films are being added annually until over 500 full films will be viewable over the Internet. It is the Archive’s hope that this pioneering effort will be of benefit to all users, whether for purposes of study, research or production. Over 300 films are currently available.
350 Years of American Jewish History
Features a “This Month in American Jewish History” section.
Welcome to the Hazor Excavations
Provides information about Tel Hazor, an ancient Canaanite and Israelite city located in the north of modern day Israel, and information for prospective volunteers who may wish to participate in further excavations at Hazor.
The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
“Provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present.”
Chabad-Lubavitch in Cyberspace
“Judaism on the Internet at the speed of light.”
A Guide to Chabad Literature
Links to Lubavitch sites.
Online seforim (Hebrew books) and American Jewish periodicals. “11,000 Classical Hebrew Books for Free Download.”
Jewish Torah Audio
Sponsored by 613.org. All the sound links are in Real Audio format.
“The premier kosher information source on the Internet.”
Navigating the Bible® II
Online bar/bat mitzvah tutor. “Study the portions. Hear the melodies. Follow the themes and learn what the scholars say. Explore it as history — literature — religion.”
OU Online: Cyber Home of Torah Judaism
Sponsored by the Orthodox Union. Links to Torah, Talmud, Israel, news, shuls and all other sites of interest to Orthodox Jews.
“Torah on the Information Superhighway.”
Sacred Texts: Judaism
Includes the Rodkinson edition of the Talmud.
Union for Reform Judaism
Formerly the Union of American Hebrew Congregations.
The United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism
Contains links of interest to Conservative Jews.
Writings of Maimonides: Manuscripts and Early Print Editions
In commemoration of the 800th anniversary of the death of Moses Maimonides, the Jewish National and University Library presents digital copies of Maimonides manuscripts and early printed editions from its collection.
The Jewish Writing Project
“An evolving community of Jews from assorted backgrounds seeking to understand what it means to be Jewish today through our writing.”
The Book of Life
A blog which features a monthly podcast on “Jewish people and the books we read.”
American Israel Public Affairs Committee
“Cyber Center for Pro-Israel Activism.”
American Jewish Historical Society
Includes links to American Jewish history departments and faculty, Jewish historical societies, and Jewish genealogical societies.
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee
The overseas arm of the American Jewish community. It sponsors programs of relief, rescue, and reconstruction.
The Association for Jewish Studies
Founded in 1969, the Association for Jewish Studies is a learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching, research, and related endeavors in Jewish Studies in colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning.
Association of Jewish Libraries
Promotes Jewish literacy through enhancement of libraries and library resources and through leadership for the profession and practitioners of Judaica librarianship.
Center for Jewish History
Includes five institutions: The American Jewish Historical Society, The American Sephardi Federation, The Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
The Jewish Bible
The JBA is affiliated with the Department of Jewish Education and Culture in the Diaspora of the Joint Authority for Jewish Zionist Education, World Zionist Organization.
Jewish Music Institute
“Dedicated to the celebration, preservation, and development of the living heritage of Jewish music for the benefit of all.”
The Jewish Outreach Institute
A resource for people concerned about interfaith marriage. Also has a link to the JOI Online Synagogue.
J Street is a pro-Israel advocacy group based in the U.S.
Latin American Jewish Studies Association
LAJSA promotes scholarship concerning the Jewish experience in Latin America through research, publication, and teaching at universities, colleges, and other research centers.
Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture (Internet Explorer only)
92nd Street Y
Leading cultural center in New York City.
Simon Wiesenthal Center
An international center for Holocaust remembrance and the defense of human rights and the Jewish people, headquartered in Los Angeles.
Southern Jewish Historical Society
The focus of the society is the Jewish experience in the American South from the colonial period to the present.
USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Stephen Spielberg’s ambitious project to use state-of-the-art multimedia technology to preserve survivors’ testimonies.
Yad Vashem - The Holocaust Martyrs’ and Heroes’ Remembrance Authority
A complex of museums, monuments, research, teaching and resource centers.
Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives
The American Jewish Archives houses over ten million pages of documentation. Digitized samples of the Manuscript, Microfilm, and Family Genealogies Collections are forthcoming.
The Central Zionist Archives
The official historical archives of the World Zionist Organization, the Jewish Agency, the Jewish National Fund, Keren Hayesod, and the World Jewish Congress, as well as the personal papers of individuals involved in the Zionist movement.
Jewish National and University Library
Located at Hebrew University, Givat Ram campus, Jerusalem. Search its online catalog in either English or Hebrew. Also browse its Digitized Book Repository, which includes some 400 public domain volumes from 15th century incunabula to early 20th century works.
Jewish Women’s Archive
The Jewish Women’s Archive, in Brookline, Massachusetts, presents the stories, struggles, and achievements of Jewish women in North America. It creates and disseminates educational materials, develops partnerships, sponsors programs, conducts and supports original research, and maintains an innovative Web site designed to help us understand our past and shape our future.
Judaica Collection (University of Pennsylvania)
Provides an integrated picture of Penn’s entire Judaica holdings, services, and resources, both on campus - including the Weigle Judaica and Ancient Near East Seminar Reading Room (JANES) in Van Pelt - and at the Center for Advanced Judaic Studies library (CAJS).
The Judaica Archival Project Virtual Library
“A new approach to Jewish Studies—the library comes to you.” A preservation and access program of Machon Mekorot Institute, operating at The Jewish National and University Library (JNUL), on the Hebrew University Givat Ram campus in Jerusalem. The Judaica Archival Project has preserved over half a million pages from thousands of rare, out-of-print and classic Hebrew works in rabbinics at JNUL. Reproductions of these may be ordered from this site.
Leo Baeck Institute
A research center for the history of German-speaking Jewry.
The Leona G. and David A. Bloom Southwest Jewish Archives
At the University of Arizona.
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
YIVO is dedicated to the study and preservation of the Eastern European Jewish heritage. Since its founding in 1925 YIVO has become the world’s preeminent research institute and academic center for Eastern European Jewish Studies.