Articles and Reports
The following social science databases are useful for the study of various aspects of Latin American Studies. These are the most frequently consulted databses, but researchers should also consult the Library Databases page to find additional discipline-specific databases.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to publications on the history of the United States and Canada, with some links to full text
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology
- General OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new windowIndex of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text resources on international affairs
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCoverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexed bibliography, with selected abstracts, of publications on economics
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles on women's studies and gender issues
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to publications on the history of all countries except the United States and Canada, with some links to full text
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnual bibliography on Latin America, covering social sciences and humanities
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations, with abstracts, to journal articles on sociology and related disciplines
Statistical Data
The following sites provide current statistical data on Latin America.
- UNdataThe United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) offers a single entry point to the many UN statistical databases and links to national data services throughout the world.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowSee the section on International Statistics.
Earlier editions of the Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878 to 2012) are available in PDF format on the U.S. Census Bureau website. - ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowAn online library of books, papers and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
- Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)LAPOP, a Vanderbuilt University project, presents databases containing political perspectives and public opinion surveys from Latin America.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)International statistics and opinion poll data on religious topics, as well as other socioeconomic factors.
- World Bank DataOpen data from the World Bank that is searchable by country
- Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (MoxLAD)MoxLAD contains statistical series for economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1900-2000.
- U.S. Census Bureau - International Data BaseProvides tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries.
- ICPSRICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, criminal justice, health, foreign policy, terrorism, education, law and more.