Research Guides: Marine Science and Policy: Web Resources

Agencies, Departments, Institutions

Bureau of Ocean Energy and Management | US Dept. of the Interior
The mission is to manage development of U.S. Outer Continental Shelf (OCS) energy, mineral, and geological resources in an environmentally and economically responsible way.
Coastal and Marine Hazards and Resources Program | USGS
Coastal and Marine Hazards and Resources Program scientists and staff study coastal and ocean resources and processes from shorelines and estuaries to the continental shelf and deep sea. US Geological Survey
Coastal Program | US Fish & Wildlife Service
An effective resource for restoring and protecting fish and wildlife habitat on public and privately-owned lands, delivering landscape-scale conservation, and implementing strategic habitat conservation
Digital Coast | NOAA
Website provides coastal data (from economic data to satellite imagery), and contains visualization tools, predictive tools, and tools that make data easier to find and use. Content comes from many sources, all of which are vetted by NOAA.
Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs - Key Topics | US Dept. of State
Topics cover Antarctic; Arctic; Law of the Sea; Marine Environment; Marine Science; Maritime Security
Office of Wetlands, Oceans and Watersheds (OWOW) | US EPA
This office in the Environmental Protection Agency works to protect our freshwater, estuarine, coastal and ocean ecosystems, including watersheds and wetlands.
Sea Grant Collection at the NOAA Central Library
Access Sea Grant research and educational materials from over the years. The Sea Grant Collection consists of research funded by the NOAA National Sea Grant College Program.

International Maritime Organization (IMO) | United Nations
Specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine and atmospheric pollution by ships
Ocean, Seas and Coast | UNEP - UN Environment Programme
UNEP promotes the protection, conservation, restoration and sustainable management of the world’s marine and coastal areas.
Oceans and Laws of the Sea | United Nations
The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) lays down a comprehensive regime of law and order in the world's oceans and seas establishing rules governing all uses of the oceans and their resources.
UN Atlas of the Oceans
The UN Atlas of the Oceans is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. It is designed for policy-makers who need to become familiar with ocean issues and for scientists, students and resource managers who need access to databases and approaches to sustainability. The UN Atlas can also provide the ocean industry and stakeholders with pertinent information on ocean matters.

Freshwater and Marine Image Bank | University of Washington Libraries
A digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics which includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. More than 21,000 images were taken from a variety of publications issued between 1735 and 1924.
The Horseshoe Crab | ERDG
Created by the Ecological Research & Development Group (ERDG), explore the most comprehensive collection of research and educational material on the world’s four horseshoe crabs species
Marine Mammal Commission
An independent agency to provide oversight of the marine mammal conservation policies and programs being carried out by federal regulatory agencies.
Marine Mammal Laboratory | NOAA Fisheries
Find research on whales, seals, sea lions and porpoises off the coasts of Alaska, Washington, Oregon, and California. Data are collected on marine mammal behavior, population dynamics, life history, migration patterns, distribution, and trends in abundance.
Marine Mammal Program | US Fish & Wildlife Service
Program provides leadership in the conservation and management of our nation's marine mammals under our jurisdiction – sea otters, Pacific walruses, polar bears, and West Indian manatees – as well as the marine ecosystems that support them.