Federal Depository Library
Many of the map collections listed on this page include scanned images of maps produced by the United States Government
Nautical Charts
These online charts are for general reference only and are not to be used for navigation.
- U.S. Chart No. 1 (Chart Symbols)U.S. Chart No. 1 describes the symbols, abbreviations, and terms used on nautical charts. It is produced by NOAA and the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency.
- Nautical Chart Viewer | NOAANOAA’s 1,000-plus U.S. coastal and Great Lakes nautical charts are viewable here on-line. Each chart is up-to-date with the most recent Notices to Mariners corrections. For earlier charts and maps, see Historical Maps link in the Charts drop-down menu.
- Bathymetry and Global Relief | NOAABathymetry (ocean depths), Combined Bathymetry and Topography, and Topography (Land Elevations) maps and data collections.. From the Marine Geology and Geophysics division of the National Centers for Environmental Information (formerly National Geophysical Data Center).
- Digital Nautical Chart (DNC)The Digital Nautical Chart (DNC) is produced by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) and is a vector-based digital product containing maritime significant features essential for safe marine navigation. DNC, for areas in which the US is the prime charting authority, is unclassified. All other areas are limited distribution.
- NOAA Tides and CurrentsNOAA’s Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS) is the authoritative source for accurate, reliable, and timely tides, water levels, currents, and other coastal oceanographic and meteorological information
- Tide Predictions | NOAA Tides & CurrentsOfficial U.S. high and low tide predictions.
Contemporary maps
These are sample sites for locating contemporary maps. While some
of these sites include older maps, the tab for Historical maps includes collections with that focus.
- CIA Maps | The World FactbookCollections include World and Regional maps; CIA Maps (physiography maps, administrative maps and transportation maps); NGA Africa Maps; NGA Africa Population Distribution Maps.
- Datasets | Data.govYou can search Data.gov from its catalog of government data from across the Federal Government. Use the filters to search by topics, categories, dataset types, etc.
- GeoData | University of Texas LibrariesYou will find a wide variety of data types available for download including georeferenced scanned maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, vector datasets developed from collections in the Alexander Architectural Archives, geospatial data from the Benson Latin American Collection, and more.
- Greater Philadelphia GeoHistory Network"This site contains thousands of old maps, property atlases, city directories, industrial site surveys, and other items documenting the history and development of the city from the 1600s through today." Access is through a resource browser and an interactive maps viewer.
- Index Map Collection | Western Michigan UniversityIndex maps for map series and sets, annotated to show local Western Michigan University Libraries holdings.
- Mapsof.net - A collection of world, country and city maps"Here you will find locations list. With comprehensive destination gazetteer, this page enables to explore through detailed maps and satellite photos — fast and easy as never before. Browse the list of cities, regions below and follow the navigation through to find populated place you are interested in."
- Find a National Park Service MapFind National Park Service maps and access the collection of National Park System Maps
- Old Maps OnlineOldMapsOnline developed out of a love of history and heritage of old maps. The project began as a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth. The project is improved and maintained by volunteers and the team of Klokan Technologies GmbH in their free time.
- Online Guide to U.S. Map CollectionsDirectory of map collections, big and small, across the United States. This initiative is a project of the Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT) of the American Library Association.
- The Atlas of Canada | Natural Resources CanadaA key source of geographic information the Atlas provides a selection of interactive and historical maps and geographical data available for reference or downloading
- Maps and data | UNITARMaps produced or facilitated by the United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR). Find UNOSAT's latest maps for current events, the latest LIVE maps, as well as maps related to natural disasters and ciris around the world since 2004.
- zipdecodeBen Fry's zipdecode began in 1999 to show the numbering works for postal codes in the United States.
- The National MapThe National Map is a suite of products and services that provide access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories. The National Map supports data download, digital and print versions of topographic maps, geospatial data services, and online viewing.