Skip to main content

Resources for Colored Conventions Research: A Guide for National Affiliates and Public Use: Websites

Search Google Books and HathiTrust for Digitized Books and Other Materials

http://www.hathitrust.org/sites/www.hathitrust.org/themes/hathitrust_zen/images/hathi/HathiTrust.gif

Find information about African Americans by searching the full text of millions of books in Google Books and the HathiTrust Digital Library. Note the name of the library that provided the book as well as the book's title, author(s), publisher name and location, date, and the page(s) where the information can be found.

If there are no options for printing or downloading, try to take a screenshot of the page that you need and/or check your library catalog to see if your library has a copy of the book.

In some cases, you will find your search terms highlighted in the text but won't be able to view the book. If there are copyright restrictions, the entire book will not be displayed.

Websites of Interest

Selected Newspaper Websites

Search for freely-available issues of historical newspapers.

Black Abolitionist Archive (Access via University of Detroit Mercy)
"The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period."

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1836-1922) | Library of Congress
Identify African American titles by selecting the "All Digitized Newspapers" tab and choosing "African American" under Ethnicity.

California Digital Newspaper Collection (1846 to present)
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.

Google News (historic and recent - search by title here)

Historical Newspapers Online (a useful gateway site)

Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Subject Librarian

Carol Rudisell's picture
Carol Rudisell
Contact:
Librarian and Head,
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6942

Subjects:Africana Studies, Ethnic Studies, Foundations and Grants, History, Sexuality Studies, Women and Gender Studies