Selected Materials from UD Special Collections
This brief list of selected materials from UD's Special Collections demonstrates the wide range of primary sources available to researchers. This list includes examples of period "professional" literature, artists' books, literature, Delaware authors, personal narratives, broadsides and graphic collections. This material is used on site in the Special Collections Reading Room in Morris Library.
Printed Collections
These are selected titles. Please AskSpec for assistance with locating additional sources.
A Finer Specimen of Womanhood by Call Number: Special Collections HQ77.8.D38 A3x 1985ISBN: 9780533061785Publication Date: 1986-02-01- This is an emergency! : a reproductive rights and gender justice portfolio. byCall Number: Special Collections FOLIO+ HQ766 .T48 2012Publication Date: 2012
- Transvestism: ... men in female dress. byCall Number: Library Annex Special Collections HQ64 .C37 1956Publication Date: 1956
- Walk the dark streets. byCall Number: Special Collections PS3539.H568 W35 1975Publication Date: 1975
Witt by Call Number: Special Collections PS3569.M53787 W5 1973ISBN: 9780910664332Publication Date: 1973-01-01
Wrongly Bodied Two by
This book relates the stories of Jake, a white male who transitions from female to male, and Ellen Craft, a 19th century black woman, who escapes slavery by passing as a white man. Sligh, in photographing Jake's transformation, becomes aware of society's psychological response to the act of changing one's identity. Recalling the methods by which Ellen Craft passes to freedom, Sligh reexamines her own fears of crossing the forbidden boundaries of gender, race and class. Silkscreen and digitally printed.
Call Number: Special Collections N7433.4 .S55 W76x 2004ISBN: 9781893125384Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Manuscripts and Archival Collections
These are selected collections. Please AskSpec to identify additional resources.
- MSS 0258, Florence Reynolds collection related to Jane Heap and The Little ReviewFlorence Reynolds (1879-1949) was the devoted, lifelong friend and benefactress of American Modernist Jane Heap (1883-1964). Reynolds provided financial as well as emotional support to Heap and her companion Margaret Anderson, with whom Heap founded and edited the influential magazine, The Little Review. The collection documents the close relationships and creative work of these women as well as many other Modernist figures in Chicago, New York, Paris, and London.
- MSS 0363, Edward Field papersPoet, anthologist, and author Edward Field was born to a Jewish immigrant family in Brooklyn, New York, in 1924. He is associated with the Long Beach (California) poetry movement and his championship of the literary legacy of Alfred Chester (1928-1971), as well as expression of bicoastal gay lifestyle and literature from the 1960s to the present. Personal and professional papers richly document Field's life and work.