Databases for Topic Exploration and Background Research
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowBrowse a list of controversial topics related to business, technology, society and culture, medicine, and more. Explore sources presenting different sides of the arguments around a topic.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFind encyclopedia articles that provide context about many academic topics. Search using a broad keyword, or browse a list of topics.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowBrowse a list of controversial social topics and read overview articles.
Background Research Strategies
Doing background research will help you learn about your topic, make decisions about issues you want to explore in your research, and allow you to develop topic-specific vocabulary you can use as you search in databases. While background research can feel like an extra step, it will ultimately save you time and frustration! Try these strategies as you begin a research project.
Choosing a Topic
- Browse subject-specific magazines or trade journals (listed below) to see what professionals in your field are discussing.
- Browse newspapers (listed below) to learn about current events related to your major.
- Use the databases on the left side of this page to browse articles related to broad topics or academic disciplines.
- Brainstorm issues you are interested in or would like to know more about.
- Do an online search for a topic of interest and read more about it.
Developing Keywords
- Start with one article you find about your topic using the publications or databases listed on this page, or a general online search. Scan the article and identify a few terms that seem important. Ask yourself:
- Which terms are mentioned several times?
- Which terms identify people or groups involved in the topic?
- Are there locations, events, or dates that seem important?
- Are there terms that define problems related to your topic? Impacts your topic has on people or systems? Potential solutions to problems?
- If you are unfamiliar with new terms, look them up using an online search or Credo Reference.
- The process of developing keywords is ongoing in a research process. You will learn and understand new terms related to your topic as you read more. When you find new articles through database searches, you can apply the same questions above to develop new keywords.
Exploring Topics through Publications
When you are beginning to choose a topic related to your major, exploring newspapers cover current events, subject-specific magazines, or trade publications can help you learn about issues being discussed by professionals in your field. Choose your major or area of interest from the list below and browse recent publications.
Current Events
- New York TimesAmerican newspaper covering national and international current events. Browse by subjects such as technology, business, and science. Use the "NYT Group Pass" link to create a free account, which will allow you to access all articles for free.
- Washington PostAmerican newspaper covering national and international current events, with an emphasis on US politics and government. Select the most recent issue under "Browse specific issues."
Business, Accounting, Economics
Newspapers
- Wall Street JournalAmerican newspaper focused on business and economics. Follow the link to sign up for a free account, which will allow you to access all articles for free.
- The EconomistWorld news coverage with a focus on business, economics, and finance. Select the most recent issue under "Browse specific issues."
- The Financial TimesUK newspaper focusing on international news related to business and economics.
Trade Publications
- RiskArticles related to international financial risk management. Scroll down to "View Online" and use the Risk.net link for current access.
- The CPA JournalArticles related to accounting and finance. Select the most recent issue under "Browse specific issues."
- Accounting TodayNews and discussion of professional issues related to accounting.
Science, Technology, Engineering
- Popular MechanicsCovers popular science and technology, geared toward a general audience. Select the most recent issue under "Browse specific issues."
- WiredMagazine that covers the impact of technology on business, culture, and society. Geared toward consumers and the general public.