The Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more. To locate digitized testimonies available directly on USHMM's website, narrow the search under "Digital Availability" by choosing "Digitized" and select "In English" if only recordings in English are needed. Then under "Film, Audio, and Video" select "Video Recording" or "Audio Recording" and "Testimony." Additional facets such as "Key Events" and "Key Cities" are also available.
A collection of over 4,000 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust, the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is part of Manuscripts and Archives, at Sterling Memorial Library, Yale. Anyone using the University of Delaware’s entire campus IP range may access the full Fortunoff Archive via the Aviary Platform. This includes anyone connecting to UD’s authorized network via VPN (Virtual Private Network). Users can search across thousands of summarized notes (indexes) and hundreds of testimony transcripts to locate content within thousands of hours of testimony. First time users will need to create an account on the Aviary Platform.
This collection consists of 24 videotaped interviews of Delaware residents who were Holocaust survivors, witnesses, or liberators. The interviews were conducted between 1989 and 1995 as part of a project coordinated by the Halina Wind Preston Holocaust Education Committee of the Jewish Federation of Delaware, in association with the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies at Yale University. A compilation of these interviews was broadcast by public television WHYY Wilmington/Philadelphia as "Holocaust Survivors Speak." A four-part video-recording of this production is also included in the collection.
Marie Jucht Kaufman (1930-1994) documented her survival of the Holocaust through letters written to her son, American writer and artist Alan Kaufman, between 1993 and 1994. The collection also includes photographs of the Jucht family during and after World War II, as well as photocopies of Marie Kaufman's naturalization documents from France, Venezuela, and the United States.
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. More than 3,000 testimony videos from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides are viewable in the VHA Online. Testimony videos not viewable in the VHA Online can be viewed onsite at many institutions around the world. First time users of VHA online will need to register for an account.
In 1946, Dr. David P. Boder, a psychology professor from Chicago's Illinois Institute of Technology, traveled to Europe to record the stories of Holocaust survivors in their own words. Includes audio interviews, in RealAudio format.