The Alice Dunbar Nelson papers documents the personal, literary, and professional life of Alice Dunbar Nelson (1875-1935), the noted African American poet, journalist, educator, and activist. Dunbar Nelson championed women’s suffrage, political activism for African American women, and international peace. The collection includes correspondence, notably in exchange (1895-1904) with her first husband, the poet Paul Laurence Dunbar, and a comprehensive body of Dunbar Nelson’s manuscripts of novels, stories, poetry, drama, and essays, some of which are unpublished. The collection also includes Dunbar Nelson’s published stories, articles, reviews, and syndicated columns. Dunbar Nelson maintained a daily diary for most of her adult life and created scrapbooks, which are found in this collection, along with photographs, family papers, newspaper clippings, ephemera, and memorabilia.
The New Century Club of Newark, Delaware, records document the history, organization, and activities of this women's club, which began in 1893 as a reading club, but quickly developed into an organization dedicated to promoting civic responsibility and social service in the Newark community.
The records of the League of Women Voters of Greater Newark, Delaware, details the organization and community efforts of this non-partisan citizens’ group. The collection includes material related to the national agenda and study issues of the League of Women Voters, but by nature of the League’s local mission, the collection is a rich source for the social and political history of Newark, Delaware. Of note is the city guide with an overview of municipal services and citizen information, This is Greater Newark, which the Newark League produced between 1969 and 1987.