Selected journals by subject area
Journal Collections by publisher
- ACS publications (American Chemical Society)
- RSC journals (Royal Society of Chemistry)
These titles have been selected from the categories used by the Sources feature in the Scopus database and are ranked according to their CiteScore calculation. The links below will take you to the catalog record on the library website, where you can select the appropriate database to access the journal. For a complete A-Z list of journals by subject area, see: Health & Biological Sciences "Biology - General"
These titles have been selected from the categories used by the Sources feature in the Scopus database and are ranked according to their CiteScore calculation. The links below will take you to the catalog record on the library website, where you can select the appropriate database to access the journal.
Chemistry
- Chemical Reviews
- Chemical Society Reviews (Online)
- Progress in Polymer Science (Online)
- Accounts of Chemical Research (Online)
- Coordination Chemistry Reviews (Online)
- Journal of the American Chemical Society
- Annual Review of Physical Chemistry
- Chem
- Angewandte Chemie - International Edition in English (Online)
- ACS Catalysis
For a complete A-Z list of journals by subject area, see: Physical Sciences & Mathematics "Chemistry - General"
Biochemistry
- Annual Review of Biochemistry
- Nature Methods (Online)
- Trends in Biochemical Sciences (Online)
- Journal of the American Chemical Society
- Progress in Lipid Research (Online)
- Chem
- Nature Catalysis
- Molecular Aspects of Medicine (Online)
- Cell Chemical Biology
- Lab on a Chip (Online)
For a complete A-Z list of journals by subject area, see: Physical Sciences & Mathematics "Biochemistry"
These titles have been selected from the categories used by the Sources feature in the Scopus database and are ranked according to their CiteScore calculation. The links below will take you to the catalog record on the library website, where you can select the appropriate database to access the journal. For a complete A-Z list of journals by subject area, see: Engineering & Applied Sciences "Chemical Engineering"
- Nature Nanotechnology (Online)
- Progress in Energy and Combustion Science
- Nature Chemistry
- Nature Reviews. Chemistry
- Nature Biotechnology (Online)
- Annual Review of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- Chemistry of Materials (Online)
- ACS Central Science
- ChemSusChem (Online)
- ACS Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering
These titles have been selected from the categories used by the Sources feature in the Scopus database and are ranked according to their CiteScore calculation. The links below will take you to the catalog record on the library website, where you can select the appropriate database to access the journal. For a complete A-Z list of journals by subject area, see Engineering & Applied Sciences "Materials Science".
- Nature Reviews. Materials
- Nature Materials (Online)
- Nature Nanotechnology (Online)
- Advanced Energy Materials (Online)
- Journal of Materials Chemistry A, Materials for energy and sustainability.
- Carbon (Online)
- Acta Materialia (Online)
- ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces (Online)
- Materials Research Letters
Biotechnology / Biomedical engineering
- Nature Biotechnology (Online)
- Trends in Biotechnology
- Biotechnology Advances (Online)
- Current Opinion in Biotechnology (Online)
- Metabolic Engineering
- Small (Weinheim an der Bergstrasse, Germany : Online)
- Biofabrication
- Tissue Engineering - Part B: Reviews
- 5 journals starting with Biomaterials in title
- Nanotechnology, Science and Applications
- Bioactive Materials
- Journal of Materials Chemistry B, Materials for biology and medicine.
Energy Engineering and Power Technology
Food Science / Nutrition
- Food Chemistry (4 titles)
- Food Hydrocolloids (2 titles)
- Innovative Food Science and Emerging Technologies
- Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry
Pharmacology / Pharmaceutics
- Advanced Healthcare Materials
- Bioconjugate Chemistry
- ChemMedChem (Online)
- Clinical and Translational Science
- Journal of Nanobiotechnology
- Life Sciences (New York, NY : 1973 : Online)
- Natural Product Reports (Online)
- Protein and Cell
Plant Science or Insect Science
Additional resources
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic. The following databases are recommended for literature research in chemistry and related fields.
- Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, & workshops across the globe. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation & abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works & graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts & humanities, but also includes science, technology & medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788) - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you *must register* and provide your UD email. Registration details and additional information.
Comprehensive database for the chemical literature. Contains other scientific disciplines as well. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical & life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations & abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central.
- C&EN Global Enterprise / Chemical & Engineering News (ACS)Professional magazine of the American Chemical Society, covering US and international chemistry news in industry, academia, and the government. Now available on the ACS Publications website as C&EN Global Enterprise, while access to the existing C&EN News website now requires an ACS membership ID login/password.
- Chemistry World (Royal Society of Chemistry)Professional/trade magazine of the RSC.
- EurekAlert! for Chemistry, Physics & Materials SciencesNews/press releases from universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations and other organizations engaged in research.
- Science Daily - Chemistry newsSelected chemistry news/press releases from universities and research organizations.
- Phys.Org - Chemistry newsChemistry articles from the Phys.Org news service.
- ACS - Chemistry & Sustainable Development GoalsThe American Chemical Society has identified seven priority SDGs and five additional SDGs that are foundational to the work of the chemistry community.
Magazines
Many of these sites also provide podcasts and videos of stories.
- Nature - News sectionProvides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
- New Scientist magazineWeekly science and technology magazine covering international news from a scientific standpoint. Topics include Technology, Space, Physics, Health, Environment.
- Science News (AAAS)Daily news site of the journal Science bringing you the latest news from the world of scientific research and science policy. (American Association for the Advancement of Science)
- Scientific AmericanProvides need-to-know coverage, insights and illumination of the most important developments at the intersection of science and society. Consult the Chemistry section under "The Sciences".
- WIRED - Science sectionThe WIRED conversation illuminates how technology is changing every aspect of our lives—from culture to business, science to design.
Newspapers
- The New York Times - Science sectionFree subscription to NYT for UD faculty, student and staff! See NYTimes.com library page for instructions on how to register.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowRecent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires & news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Australia.
(Coverage: 1980 --)