Skip to Main Content

Genealogy: African American Sources

Societies

African American Newspapers

Comprehensive resources or lists of African-American newspapers are difficult to find. The following information offers useful starting points.

The Colored American (Washington, DC)

Location: Internet (available in Chronicling America) (1899-1904)

The Colored American (New York, NY)
Location: Library Databases (restricted to University of Delaware) (available in Accessible Archives) (1837-1841)

Freeman (Indianapolis, IN)
Location: UD Library Microfilm S 2239 (Lib. has:1888-1916)

Norfolk Journal and Guide (Norfolk, VA)
Location :UD Library Microfilm S 154 (Lib. has: 1916-1917, 1921-1966)

Article about the Journal and Guide (PBS).

Pittsburgh Courier
Location: UD Library Microfilm S 182 (Lib. has: 1911-1912,1923-1950)

Article about the Pittsburgh Courier (PBS)

Richmond Planet (Richmond, VA)
Location: Internet (available in Chronicling America) (1883-1938)

The Washington Bee (Washington, DC)
Location: Internet (available in Chronicling America) (1884-1922)

Related Newspaper

The National Era (Washington, DC)
Location: Library Databases (restricted to University of Delaware) (available in Accessible Archives) (1847-1860)

An abolitionist newspaper, not an African American paper. Covered many topics related to slavery and current events.

Library Catalog

Search for subject African American newspapers in DELCAT Discovery.

Guides to African American Newspapers

Pinick, Timothy N. Finding and Using African American Newspapers. Wyandotte, OK: Gregarth Publishing Co., 2008. Not available at the University of Delaware Library.

More Information

ProQuest Historical Newspapers — Black Newspapers collection. Not available at the UD Library.

Provides full text of: Atlanta Daily World (1931–2003); The Baltimore Afro-American (1893–1988); Chicago Defender (1910–1975); Cleveland Call & Post (1934–1991); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934–2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921–2003); The Philadelphia Tribune (1912–2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911–2002).

The Black Press Held By The Library of Congress
Location: Internet

Caution: created in 1991, so the holdings information is not current. Still useful as a list of titles.

Highly Recommended: Research Guides

Research Guides

Web Resources

Primary Resources

Maryland and Delaware, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872, Wilmington, Delaware. Image 6 of 19; citing NARA microfilm publication M1906 (Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, n.d.). FamilySearch

Law and Legislation

Manumission was under the jurisdiction of the Virginia legislature until 1782. During that period governmental action was required for manumission. See article:  Ahrens, Toni, and Paul Finkelman. "Emancipation." In Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass: Oxford University Press, 2006. https://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780195167771.001.0001/acref-9780195167771-e-0184.
 

Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library

Family tree

Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.

This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.

The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.

For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.

For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.

1890 Census Fragment for Delaware

African American Experience in World War I

There is a growing number of resources on this topic, both in print and on the web. Recommended search term for library catalogs and for internet searching:

african americans "world war i "

The space after "world war i" eliminates "world war ii" from the search

African American Military Research