Skip to Main Content

Genealogy: Library Catalogs & Finding Books

Use Library Catalogs to Find

Guides to research or guides to types of records

genealogy handbooks
naturalization records

State and local histories

maryland history

Resources available for places

south carolina pensions

Primary sources

georgia births

Abstracts / indexes to primary sources
Family histories or genealogies

talley family

Catalogs may not be good places to search for names of individuals.

Descriptions of Resources in the National Archives

Library Catalogs

DELCAT Discovery and WorldCat

WorldCat (worldcat.org) is a global catalog of library collections, containing more than 72,000 library catalogs. WorldCat is a freely available catalog.

When WorldCat Libraries is listed, the item is not available at the UD Library.

FamilySearch Catalog

The FamilySearch (Family History Library) catalog has a special feature: search by place. An easy way to see the categories of records available.

Bonus: most of the books in the catalog are available in other libraries. The subject terms and features in the FamilySearch library often makes it easier to identify publications. Then use DELCAT Discovery (or Worldcat.org) to get the publication.

Genealogy Resources at the University of Delaware Library

Family tree

Although not aimed at genealogy and family history, the collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogists and family historians.

This Genealogy Research Guide is provided as a service for genealogists. It presents topics and resources to assist researchers.

The UD Library does not specialize in genealogy and does not have staff responsible for genealogy. Library staff cannot conduct research.

For questions about library resources and holdings, use the Ask the Library service.

For questions about getting research assistance, see the suggestions on the home page of this guide or on the topic/resources pages.

Bibliographies

Digital Book Collections