Coordinator, Political Papers and Electronic Records
Finding Special Collections Material
Published items held in Special Collections, such as books, journals, pamphlets, and broadsides, are searchable in DELCAT. It is possible to limit your search to ONLY materials held in Special Collections by selecting the box next to "Special Collections" under the "Library" tab on the sidebar. Material from Special Collections will display the location information as "Special Collections Non-Circulating."
For additional information on how to search Special Collections in DELCAT, such as how to limit or sort by date, please refer to the Using DELCAT Discovery guide.
Manuscripts and archives
Special Collections' manuscript and archival collections contain a wide range of materials, such as personal papers, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, drafts, photographs, business records, reports, ephemera, audio, video, and born-digital content. The guides to these collections are called finding aids and they can be browsed and searched here: https://library.udel.edu/special/findaids/search Not all finding aids or collection descriptions are online, so please contact Special Collections if you need help with your search.
A finding aid serves as a guide to understanding an archival or manuscript collection and helps researchers find material in the collection. This handout describes the various parts of the University of Delaware's Special Collections finding aids.
Every archival collection in Special Collections at the University of Delaware has been assigned a specific collection call number, which identifies the collection category and the type of material found within. This handout explains how this information may help shape research strategies.
The journal of Dr. Stanley Hart Osborn describes his work with the Red Cross in Serbia and Montenegro during World War I. The journal is a carbon copy of a typescript of the daily journal kept by Osborn from May 1915 to January 1916, and relates his experiences as a member of a neutral organization during the war. The journal also features over 300 photographs taken by Osborn, corresponding to events in the diary.
These nine volumes are a journal and scrapbook kept by Jessie Southard Parker of Belmont, Massachusetts, from 1899 to 1916. Parker wrote extensively about her social and family life, thoughts on current events, and belief in Christian Science, supplementing her entries with theatrical programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other pieces of ephemera.
The last pages of volume 4 of this collection contain the entries related to the San Francisco earthquake.
J. Allen Frear, Jr. (1903-1993) was a politician from Dover, Delaware (Kent County). A member of the Democratic Party, Frear served two terms as U.S. Senator from Delaware. The Senator J. Allen Frear, Jr. papers are primarily those of his congressional career, when he represented Delaware in the U.S. Senate from 1949 to 1960, though the collection also includes personal material from pre- and post-Congressional periods. The collection dates from 1917 to 1963, with bulk of the material dating from 1949 to 1961. The collection consists of correspondence, memoranda, reports, legislation, speeches, clippings, photographs, and audio-visual material. Personal material includes correspondence, class notes, travel brochures and post cards, and memorabilia.
Specific material on droughts and floods in Delaware can be found in Box 4, folder 140; Box 12, folders 19 and 20; and Box 50, folders 296 and 297.
At this time, only the audio series and photograph series have been digitized.
The Audio series houses approximately 200 recordings of "The Week In Congress," Senator Frear's weekly radio address to the people of Delaware. Throughout his senate career, J. Allen Frear, Jr. addressed the people of Delaware on a weekly basis regarding issues of congressional, domestic, and international importance. WDOV, a radio station in Dover, contracted Senator Frear to present "The Week In Congress" during his two terms in office. Although Senator Frear began recording his weekly radio broadcasts in 1949, this subseries contains only recordings from 1953 to 1959.
The Photograph series contains photographs of Senator Frear and his congressional colleagues, friends, fraternal brothers, Mrs. Frear, and other individuals and groups. The Photograph series provides images of the many aspects of Senator Frear's congressional career. The series is divided into several categories which reflect activities, involvement with specific organizations, relations with colleagues, and Mrs. Frear's participation in her husband's various social and charitable activities. In addition to photographs, awards and citations corresponding to photographs throughout the series are included here, as are “keepsake” letters and documents of sentimental value to Senator Frear.
The Littleton and Jane Mitchell papers document the life and career of the Delaware-based civil rights activist and educator Littleton P. Mitchell (1918-2004) and his wife Jane E. Mitchell (1921-2004). The collection contains material relating to his education, activities as a member of the Tuskegee Airmen, his three decades-long leadership of the Delaware NAACP, his career as a teacher and counselor at Governor Bacon Health Center in Delaware City, and his involvement in a number of organizations. The collection also highlights the career of Jane Mitchell, one of Delaware's first African-American nurses and former director of nursing at the Delaware State Hospital. There are also photographs, slides, and other media documenting the Mitchells' family life as well as their participation in local and national events. The collection also contains a significant amount of the many awards and citations received by Littleton and Jane Mitchell for their achievements. As a whole, the papers explore the professional, personal, and family relationships of an African-American family in the 20th century.
Born in 1938, Armistead Willis Browning, Jr., was a landscape architect, environmentalist and teacher who dedicated his life to environmental preservation and education. The papers chronicle Browning's experience at three architectural firms, two main centers of education, and with numerous independent projects, symposia, and workshops.
The Classics Illustrated collection is a collection of comic books from four versions of the Classics Illustratedseries. Classics Illustrated published adaptations of the classics of literature in comic book format, with the intention of introducing literature to younger readers. The bulk of the collection comprises 79 issues from the original Classics Illustrated series, which was created by Albert Lewis Kanter and published by Gilberton Company from 1941 to 1971. There are also: 22 issues from the Classics Illustrated Junior Series, which adapted fairy tales and fables for a younger audience from 1953 to 1969; three issues of First Comics’s version of Classics Illustrated, which published entirely new adaptations of classic literature from 1990 to 1991; and 48 issues of Acclaim Books’ Classics Illustrated Study Guides, which reprinted issues from the original Classics Illustrated series in a study guide format similar to CliffsNotes from 1996-1998.
This Delaware clippings and scrapbook collection includes articles and full page sheets clipped and saved from nineteenth- and twentieth-century published newspapers and periodicals (bulk dates 1950-1969). Housed in 17 folders and one scrapbook, the articles focus on historic structures and locations in Delaware, local politics and people, the Delaware River, transportation, and extreme weather.