Skip to main content

HIST805: America 1860-Present

This research guide was created for Dr. Mohun's HIST805: Research and Writing Seminar course.

Welcome!

Welcome to the course guide for HIST805 with Dr. Mohun. On this guide you will find pre-work, links to sources (both secondary and primary), and search strategies that we will cover in class on February 23. 

If you have any questions or would like to sign-up for an individual consultation session, please don't hesitate to email us! 

Pre-Work

This section includes links to Resources and Work to Complete before class on February 23. Please come with any questions you might have and be prepared to participate in class discussion.

1. What is an archival finding aid? Please read this finding aid and be prepared to talk about what you learned about this primary source.

2. Please peruse the following four Special Collections online exhibitions. Select one for a closer look and be prepared to discuss these questions in class. 

  1. What was the purpose of the exhibition? (Commemoration, collection highlight, pedagogy, etc.)
  2. Who was the curator?
  3. What observations do you have about how primary sources were used to form a narrative for this exhibition?

3. Collection Development 

Please review this Selected List of New Resources in Special Collections 2020

  1. What interests you on this list?
  2. What observations do you have about these collecting areas in Special Collections?

4. New Acquisition Excercise

Visit this catalog from Langdon Manor https://www.langdonmanorbooks.com/images/upload/catalog-7-final-for-web.pdf and propose a purchase for Special Collections.  Select an item number and be prepared to discuss your proposed purchase.

  1. Why are you recommending this item?
  2. How do you think this item could be used? What areas of study would it support?
  3. Who would use this item?
  4. How does it fit with other resources in Special Collections?

5. Learn more about our Digital Scholarship & Publishing Department and watch the two videos below about some of our library services.