The Marginalized Voices Honeycomb offers 6 broad categories of sources that can be publishing work on your topic. Fill out the honeycomb with the names of relevant sources that would be engaging with your topic.
| Academic Voices | Journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings/presentations, theses and dissertations |
| News Media | Local, community-based, or national reporting. Newspapers, videos, audio, etc. |
| Community Voices | Social media, YouTube videos, podcasts, blogs, forums |
| Association and Organization Reports | Information publicized by associations and organizations whose operations are related to your topic |
| Public Sector Reports | Government publications, publications from Indigenous self-governance groups, social services like policing, healthcare, etc. |
| Stakeholders and Allies | Communities, organizations, nonprofit organizations, companies, etc. affected by or connected to the topic |
Created by Jackie Stapleton, Liaison Librarian, University of Waterloo
Adapted by: Aneta Kwak, Mikayla Redden, Jeff Newman, Liaison Librarians, University of Toronto. Last update: March 2023
Where to Find Sources
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts of published literature on social work, human services, and related areas
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations, with abstracts, to journal articles on sociology and related disciplines
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowCitations, with abstracts, to publications on research, policy, and practice in family science, human ecology, and human development
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowAn index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCoverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and cited references to material published in scholarly journals in all subject areas
- Health Affairs (Journal)Explore the topics and briefs for information about health policy
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
"social welfare"
"food stamps"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR).
poverty OR "low income"
"Social Security Act" AND "unemployment insurance"
- Click either "View all formats and languages" or "View all editions" to view all library holdings for a particular title.
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via interlibrary loan.
Advanced Search Tips
- Type au:, su: or ti: before your keywords to specify author, subject or title words.
su:education
- A title search may identify items that have matching words in their chapter titles or contents lists.
- See Searching WorldCat: Index Quick Reference for other options.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of more than 70,000 videos spanning numerous subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics on a variety of topics. Each include a citation from the original source. You may consider looking at that original source to find more content.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProvides global news content from 2,500+ news sources, 1980s to present. Coverage varies by title.
- Additional NewspapersThe library subscribes to popular individual titles such as the New York Times as well as newspapers for specific time periods, populations, and locations.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowAn integrated platform that combines Gale’s digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. More than 40 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowHistorical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, gender research and gender studies research. (Coverage: 16th – 21st centuries) Learn more about this database.