Skip to Main Content

Special Collections: African American Studies Research Guide

A research guide on African American history and culture collections at the University of Delaware Library Special Collections

Introduction to African American Studies in Special Collections

Special Collections at the University of Delaware Library, Museums and Press collects broadly to support the study of African American history and culture. These primary and secondary sources cover a wide range of topics, with particular strengths in Delaware History and African American literature and print culture. Special Collections also houses the substantial Lincoln Collection--one of the largest collections of Lincolniana in a research library--which encompasses 19th-century African American life and history, emancipation, Black Civil War soldiers and military service, and slavery. This LibGuide will help you find materials in Special Collections including printed collections, manuscripts and archives, digital collections, and exhibitions, as well as related resources.

 

Images from African American Studies collections

Covers of books held in Special Collections

David Fox Nelson, ca. 1850-. Scrapbook. “Presented to Miss Cassie E. Day by David F. Nelson, August 19th, 1878.”

David Fox Nelson, ca. 1850-. Scrapbook. “Presented to Miss Cassie E. Day by David F. Nelson, August 19th, 1878.” (MSS 0093, Item 0109)

Wilbur Henry Siebert (1866-1961). “Underground” Routes to Canada Showing the Lines of Travel of Fugitive Slaves. New York: Bormay & Co., 1898.

Wilbur Henry Siebert (1866-1961). “Underground” Routes to Canada Showing the Lines of Travel of Fugitive Slaves. New York: Bormay & Co., 1898.