This page contains:
Literature holdings in American, British, and Irish literature constitute one of the most important collections of its kind in the world. American literature concentrates on the twentieth century. English literature are concentrated for the century 1750 to 1850 with strengths in Romantic poetry and prose. Irish literature from the 1700s to the present is collected with strong representation of the Irish Literary Renaissance and later twentieth century authors.
Art holdings encompasses all periods and styles of fine, decorative, and applied arts. It is particularly strong in works on painting technique and instruction, the decorative arts of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, architecture, and the book arts. Additional strengths are the history of printing and graphic arts, history of papermaking and fine printing.
History and Delawareana All aspects of English and American history are represented from the sixteenth century onward, and a significant collection on French political theory and statecraft. A number of works concern travel and exploration, and the history of Delaware from its settlement by the Swedes in 1638 to the present is the focus of the Delaware Collection.
Science and Technology collections are strongest in the history of chemistry, engineering and the natural sciences. The Unidel History of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture Collection contains over five thousand publications covering every aspect of the field of horticulture.
To read about the collection focus in more detail please see Special Collections' Collection Focus webpage.
The Mark Samuels Lasner Collection focuses on British literature and art of the period 1850 to 1900, with an emphasis on the Pre-Raphaelites and on the writers and illustrators of the 1890s. Its holdings comprise 7,000 first and other editions (including many signed and association copies), manuscripts, letters, works on paper, and ephemera.
Please note that materials in the Mark Samuels Lasner Collection are not listed in DELCAT.
Official records of the University of Delaware reside with the University Archives, which is charged with documenting the history of the institution.
Located at 002 Pearson Hall, the University Archives is open to the public. For additional information please contact the Archives at (302) 831-2750 or visit their website.