I found a book/manuscript that I want to see. How do I find it?
When you arrive in Special Collections you will be greeted by a staff member who will assist you. At your first visit you will be asked to fill out a brief reader registration form. Every time you visit you will be asked to present a photo ID.
Bring the bibliographic information of the material you would like to see, which is either the Call Number of the print item or the Manuscript Collection Number and the specific Box + File Number. These are the key pieces of information that the repository must have in order to retrieve things for you.
Staff will assist you in filling out a call slip for the requested material and then WE bring the material to you!
Special Collections materials do not circulate and must be used within our reading room; please allow yourself ample time to conduct your research.
Do I need an appointment to visit?
You do not need an appointment to visit Special Collections, but it is always helpful to have advance notice of your visit. If you have any questions please contact a Special Collections librarian.
What are Special Collections hours?
Where is Special Collections located?
The Special Collections Department is located on the second floor of the Morris Library, 181 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19717-5267 USA.
Please read Visiting Special Collections for more details, including information about parking.
Since the materials in Special Collections are unique, they require special handling.