Research Guides: WOMS410: Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources

The Review
Subscribe to The Review, the UD student-run newspaper, to get information on campus life from the student's perspective.
Connections Newsletter
Published by the Department of Women & Gender Studies

Sources listed are collections that have been digitized by the University of Delaware Library Digitzation and Preservation team, or collections that were "born digital" in their original format, such as the audio recordings in the oral history collections.

Blue Hen Yearbooks (DIGITAL COLLECTION)
This collection contains yearbooks published by students of Delaware College and later the University of Delaware.
The Review (DIGITAL COLLECTION)
The Review is the independent student newspaper of the University of Delaware. Founded in 1882, it is a voice for UD students.
MSS 0661, Delaware Afro-Latina oral histories collection (DIGITAL COLLECTION)
This collection of raw and edited footage of interviews of Newark, Delaware, area Afro-Latinas was created in Spring 2009 by students in a Women's Studies course (WOMS 410) at the University of Delaware.

more... less...

Included are Mini-DV tapes containing raw footage of the interviews and DVDs containing the edited interviews.
MSS 0664, University of Delaware Women's Studies oral history collection (DIGITAL COLLECTION)
This collection consists of oral history interviews with faculty from the University of Delaware Department of Women and Gender Studies, conducted as part of the 2011 "Women at the Center" project. The interviews, mainly conducted by Professor Marie Laberge of the Women and Gender Studies Department, discuss various topics relating to the creation and development of the Women's Studies program at the University of Delaware as well as the personal experiences of each interviewee.

more... less...

The collection also features interviews with students from the 2012 graduating class of Women's Studies who were in Professor Laberge's Spring 2012 semester Senior Capstone class. Each interview is accompanied by a tape log, which summarizes the topics discussed by the participants.
GRA 0138, Delaware Postcard Collection (DIGITAL COLLECTION)
The Delaware Postcard Collection comprises over 2,000 historic images depicting places and life in Delaware. Digital images are available through an online database, a project that was funded by the Unidel Foundation. Images can be searched by geographic location or subject terms, yielding visual sources related to African Americans such as the Colored School in Marshallton or numerous Methodist Episcopal churches throughout the state.
The Delaware Women's Hall of Fame
Organized by the Office of Women's Advancement and Advocacy with the support of the DE Department of Human Resources and Delaware Women's Hall of Fame Committee

Explore the wiki for a full searchable list: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hall_of_Fame_of_Delaware_Women