Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, & reviews on more than 130,000 authors & their works in all disciplines, all time periods, & from around the world.
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, & other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords & people, & discover more in-depth books & articles. Images, audio & video files are included.
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires & news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
This subscription allows you to simply go to nytimes.com and log in using an individual account. You can also use that account to access the New York Times app.
How to get an account: 1. Go to accessnyt.com 2. Search for and click the listing for “University of Delaware”. 3. Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus. 4. Attention Chrome users! You will get a security warning. Please go ahead and click ignore!
Important note: If you already have an nytimes.com account, you will need to log out of your personal accounts (if registered to a non-UD email address) or cancel your subscriptions (if registered to a UD email) before authenticating through the library's subscription.
Citations for articles, books, book chapters, & more. When available, includes links to full-text resources from the library & in open access publications. Covers a range of humanities subjects, including world languages & literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric & writing, teaching of language, & history of publishing. (Coverage: 1926 --)
Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals & series on the Bibliography‘s Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.
Amazon.com offers book reviews of many of the book titles it sells. Some reviews are by professionals; many are by readers. Find a book and scroll down its entry to read the reviews, where present. For balance, try a variety of positive and negative reviews.
Partial Open Access. Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access & preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.
Google Scholar is only one of many ways to identify & access scholarly publications. Consult the Databases page or the Electronic Journalspage for other possibilities.