Handbooks and Guides for Business Plan
If you’re writing a business plan, these resources can help you find step-by-step guides, templates, and examples.
-
BplansFree sample business plans and templates across many industries.
-
DELCATSearch for books, manuals, and handbooks on business planning. Try using keywords such as “business plan” or “business planning” to find guides in print and ebook format.
-
U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)Offers free guides on writing business and marketing plans. See the Starting and Managing a Business section on the SBA website for practical tools and examples.
-
Entrepreneurship.org (Kauffman Foundation)Tools and articles for entrepreneurs, including guidance on planning and pitching.
Industry and Market Data for Business Plans
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles, case studies, and reports, including MarketLine company and industry profiles with SWOT analyses.
-
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new windowIndustry reports with market size, trends, risks, and forecasts.
Additional Resources
If your business project involves health, science, or technology, these specialized databases may be useful, but please use our research guides or database lists to see additional sources:
Science and Technology Databases
-
AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. (Coverage: 1970 --)
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email.
Comprehensive database for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, and chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. -
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A reference and citation index comprised of several databases that can be searched as a whole or individually. Provides access to data from scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia. workshops, and conventions across the world. To search in a subset rather than all components at once, select a database and then select the desired index or indices in the “Editions” dropdown menu.
Medical and Health Sciences Databases
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing and allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)
-
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Consumer health database providing authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. (Coverage: 1980 --)
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. Updated daily. (4 concurrent users).