Databases for Industry and Company Reports
These databases are the best starting point for industry research. They provide company profiles, industry reports, market analysis, and financial data. Many of them use NAICS or SIC codes to group companies and industries, so knowing those codes can make your searches more precise.
Use these sources to:
- Get an overview of an industry (size, trends, forecasts, challenges)
- Find company reports with financials, competitors, and strategies
- Access market data to support assignments, projects, and business plans
Industry Research
-
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
-
Encyclopedias of American IndustriesHistorical and descriptive industry overviews. Print editions available in the Morris Library and the Library Annex
Company Research
-
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowCompany data and First Research industry reports with trends, benchmarks, and market insights
-
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new windowCompany and industry analysis, with financial data
-
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information This link opens in a new windowPublic company filings such as annual reports (10-K, etc.)
Industry and Company Analysis
-
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new windowCompany and industry analysis, news, and reports
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
Industry Classification Codes (NAICS & SIC)
Industry codes are used to group companies by the type of products or services 
they provide. They are especially useful when searching databases for industry reports, benchmarking data, or competitor lists.
How NAICS codes are structured
- First 2 digits = Sector
- 3rd digit = Subsector
- 4th digit = Industry Group
- 5th digit = Industry
- 6th digit = National Industry
Example:
722513 = Limited-Service Restaurants (fast food chains like McDonalds or Starbucks)
"NAICS Code Format" by TadgStirkland401 is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0 
.
-
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)The standard system used in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. Each industry is assigned a 2–6 digit code. NAICS is updated every five years (most recent revision: 2022).
-
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)The system used before NAICS. Although it was last revised in 1987, some databases and government sources still use SIC codes. SIC codes are four digits.
Finding Information on Competitors
Understanding competitors is an important part of industry research. Competitor analysis, also called competitive intelligence, helps you see who the major players are in a market and how they operate. It can provide insight into:
- What products or services competitors offer
- Pricing and business strategies
- Strengths, weaknesses, and future plans
Key databases for competitor information:
-
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowUse the US Business section to identify and compare businesses by size, location, industry, and sales.
-
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new windowCompany profiles, industry comparisons, financials, and competitor lists
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowHoovers Report in Nexis Uni - Company profile area - Company profiles with business descriptions, executives, competitors, and financials.
Databases for competitive intelligence (strategies, SWOTs, and analysis):
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles, market/industry reports, and SWOT analyses
-
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowIncludes First Research industry reports with competitor context, industry challenges, and benchmarking tools.
Government Sources: Industry Surveys and Reports
Several U.S. government agencies provide free statistical data and reports on industries and sub-sectors. These can be especially useful for finding economic indicators, production data, and business conditions that affect industries.
U.S. Census Bureau
-
U.S. Census BureauDemographic and economic data on U.S. populations, households, and businesses.
-
Census - Business and Economy DataA wide variety of economic data on most U.S. businesses and industries in your community are free, easy to use, and made possible by economic surveys conducted each year.
-
Census - Current Industrial Reports (CIR)The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has provided monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years.
Federal Reserve Banks - Conduct regional surveys that provide insights into manufacturing and business conditions:
-
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia - Business Outlook SurveyMonthly survey tracking business activity, orders, employment, and prices in the Third District.
-
Federal Reserve Bank of New York - Empire State Manufacturing SurveyMonthly survey of manufacturers in New York State.
-
Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas - Survey of Tenth District ManufacturersTracks production, shipments, and pricing trends in the Tenth District.
-
Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond - Surveys of Business ConditionsMonthly survey of manufacturing activity in the Fifth District (DC, MD, NC, SC, VA, WV).