General Information about Patents and Intellectual Property
General Information Concerning Patents
The online version of the USPTO publication of the same name, this site
provides answers to most of the general, informative questions that
newcomers to the patenting process need to know. A good place to start
for those in need of introductory material on patent information.
Guide to Intellectual Property Law (Hieros Gamos)
This is the Intellectual Property section of the Hieros Gamos
Comprehensive Legal and Government Portal. This site contains a
multitude of links to sites dedicated to all aspects of intellectual
proprty law, including directories, newsgroups, business guides,
seminar information, employment, journals, and news.
KuesterLaw: The Technology Law Resource
Another comprehensive site for intellectual property law containing links to attorneys, government information, newslists,
and other intellectual law sites as well as numerous intellectual property resources.
A patent information site created and maintained by Yahoo with links to
various associations, foreign patent information sources, specialized
patent research areas (biotechnology, software, etc.) as well as
newsgroups and publications. Yahoo constantly updates their webpages so
there should be regular updates to this page.
United States Patent Information
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) The home page of the USPTO provides links to all of their services including a database of all U.S. patents issued since 1790. This is the best site for obtaining information about patents in the United States.
19th Century Masterfile This database contains a computerized version of the Subject-Matter Index of Patents for Inventions Issued by the United States Patent Office from 1790-1873, Inclusive. This is a licensed product and only available to members of the University of Delaware community.
Google Patents The patent site of Google. Searching is available from 1790 to the present through the optically scanned images of the actual patents. Users should be aware that the scans themselves, especially on older patents, are not always of a high quality and this might result in some bad and/or incomplete searches. This is not a recommended site for conducting an actual patent search but is very useful for retrieving older patents by unusual criteris such as application numbers and inventor name. Patents are in PDF format and while printing is allowed the images are often of a poor quality.
Free Patents Online Free Patents Online offers a wide array of patent information and services. It is free but you must register and create a personal account. Full text keyword searching is available from 1976 onward with earlier patents available through limited fields back to 1836. Patents are in PDF format and offer good quality printing.
Delphion Intellectual Property Network A good source of patent information maintained by Delphion, this site will provide complete images of patents from 1971 to the present. There are many other features on this site, including foreign patent information, but they are fee-based as part of a subscription service.
Foreign Patent Information
European Patent Office (EPO)
The home page of the EPO available in English, French, or German.
Contains links to information reagarding
the EPO, a directory of patent information centers in various
countries, official communications from the EPO, news and updates,
information on seminars, and other useful information. Also included
here is a link to the esp@cenet search system, an interface that allows
you to search the patent databases of all the member countries in a
variety of languages.
esp@cenet is the patent searchin ginterface of the European Patent
Office. You can search for patents worldwide and often retrieve a PDF
copy of the patent, though often it will be in the language of original
Trilateral Web Site
The Trilateral Offices, the European Patent Office (EPO), the Japanese
Patent Office (JPO), and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
have been cooperating for the administration of their patent functions
in order to gain possible mutual benefits since 1983. Their web site
provides updated information on the activities of the Office.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The homepage of WIPO, available in English, French, or Spanish. WIPO is
is an intergovernmental organization with headquarters in Geneva,
Switzerland, one of the 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations
system of organizations. WIPO is responsible for the promotion of the
protection of intellectual property throughout the world through
cooperation among States, and for the administration of various
multilateral treaties dealing with the legal and administrative aspects
of intellectual property.