Skip to main content

Primary Sources in Science and Technology in Special Collections: Horticulture and Botany

About the collection

The Unidel History of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture Collection contains over five thousand publications covering every aspect of the field of horticulture, such as agriculture, floriculture,landscape architecture and park design and agricultural chemistry. The Collection contains early herbals and botanic works; eighteenth-century British agricultural treatises, eighteenth and early nineteenth century gardening dictionaries and manuals; British, French and German landscape works. Its great strength is in American imprints and practical and ornamental horticulture.

Highlights from the print collection

Hooker, William Jackson, Sir. Exotic flora: containing figures and descriptions of new, rare or otherwise interesting exotic plants ... with remarks upon their generic and specific characters, natural orders, history, culture, time of flowering. Edinburgh: Printed for W. Blackwood; [etc., etc.] 1823-27.

Thornton, R. J. (Robert John). Elements of botany. London: Printed for the author, as prizes in the Royal Botanical Lottery, by J. Whiting, 1812.

Darwin, Charles. The power of movement in plants. Assisted by Francis Darwin. London, John Murray, 1880.

Highlights from the manuscript collection

Click on the link to view the full finding aid.

MSS 093, Item 016 John Jackson albums of specimens of dried flowers and plants

Read abstract. . .

 

MSS 388 Alexander Wilson Papers

Read abstract . . .

Seed Catalogs

Thousands of seed, nursery, and agricultural implement catalogs range in date from the eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

The seed catalogs are indexed in a card file which is not yet available in an online format. We are working on providing improved access to this information.

There is a supplement online which is a small portion of the Seed Catalogs.

For assistance in searching and using the seed catalogs please contact us.

Seed Catalogs

Ask a Special Collections Librarian

Have a Question?

Ask Us!

We are happy to help assist you with your research.


Special Collections is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Before visiting, please read the policies & procedures page and the visitor information page.

Also, for more information please see Frequently Asked Questions.