E-booksPrint Books
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Studies  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/africanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Anthropology
by Erin Daix - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
215 views this year
Ethnic Studies
by Carol Rudisell - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
117 views this year
International Business Research
by Pauly Iheanacho - Last Updated Aug 30, 2013
34 views this year
Linguistics
by Dianna McKellar - Last Updated Feb 6, 2014
235 views this year
African American Studies
by Carol Rudisell - Last Updated Mar 21, 2014
711 views this year
Geography
by Cathy Wojewodzki - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
111 views this year
Comparative Literature
by Linda Stein - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
59 views this year
 

Find Background Information

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Brittanica Online
Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher Plus Archive explores a single “hot” issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference database and is a great place to start your research. There are several ready-reference encyclopedias and fact books.

 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.
 

The Research Process

 

1. Choose a topic that interests you. Find background information to help you know more about your topic and to narrow your focus.

2. Think of a search strategy. What do you want more information on? Choose keywords you can use to search for your topic. Think of key concepts, synonyms, and related terms.

3. Find sources. Here is where this guide can help. Find print or electronic books, articles, audiovisual media, and websites that can help you find more information on your topic.

4. Evaluate. Modify your keywords or databases if you're not finidng good sources. Research is a process.

 

Keyword Searching in the Library Catalog and Databases

 Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)

Use AND to focus your search and to combine different aspects of your topic.

Example: environment and agriculture and "South Africa"

Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

Example: "global warming" or "climate change"

Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

Example: tsunami not Japan

 

More tips:

"Phrase search": Use quotation marks to search for a particular phrase. Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"

Truncation *: Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural. Example: environment* (finds environments, environmental, environmentalist, etc.)

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords): Use parentheses as a way to group all your search terms together. Example: (climate change or global warming) and population growth

 

Recommendation for Library Purchase

The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Hannah Lee
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip