This is the "Historical Delaware Maps" page of the "Delaware Historical Maps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Printed and digitized maps and related resources for the State of Delaware.
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/delhistmaps Print Guide RSS Updates
Historical Delaware Maps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Maps in the U.S. Serial Set

The United States Congressional Serial Set Map Index contains a wide variety of maps on topics as predictable as Armed Forces and Conflicts or  Discovery and Exploration to those as unexpected as the Almshouses and Asylums. You can find for example the map titled "Boston in 1880, showing societies (secret and benefit), hospitals, asylums and homes." Maps included date to before 1799.  For example if you were studing the Roman Empire  you might find interesting a map of the "Main road system of the Roman Empire as shown by the Itinerary of Antonine (A.D. 150) and the Itinerary to Jerusalem (A.D. 333). From Parthey and Pinder."

 

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Map Index help screens provide assistance in searching for maps.

Gazetters & Place Names Online

  • Delaware Place Names - Heck, L. W. (1966)  Icon
    Note: large file. U.S. Geological Survey. Bulletin, no. 1245.
  • Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
    * Searchable database of all recognized geographic names in the United States. Can verify names, find name variants, find information about places, such as, county and geographic coordinates.
    * Can search by feature type. Examples: cemeteries, hospitals, lakes, post offices.
    * To limit a search to a city or town, use the “feature class” drop down menu, and select the term “populated place.”

Guides to Using Maps

Large Format Printing

Anyone wishing to take an online map into the field should consider printing a copy.  Commercial providers, such as FexEx Office, offer large format printing services in person and online.  University of Delaware users may consider two on campus locations for printing large format materials. 

 

Atlases & Maps

A listing of printed materials available for use in the Library.


Cover Art
New Castle County, Delaware Street Map Book
Call Number: Morris Library Reference G1268.N4 A32 2012
Publication Date: 2012



Atlas of the State of Delaware - Daniel G. Beers (1980 reprint)
Reprint of the Pomeroy and Beers edition of 1868.

Delaware, 7.5 minute series (topographic) - United States Geological Survey.
The USGS. 7.5 Minute topographic quadrangle map series uses a map scale of 1:24,000 (1 inch on the map represents 2,000 feet on the ground). These maps depict basic natural and cultural features of the landscape, such as lakes and streams, highways and railroads, boundaries, and geographic names. Delaware is covered by 51 map sheets at this scale.

Historical Atlas and Chronology of County Boundaries, 1788-1980. - John H. Long, ed. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1984.
Call Number: Morris Library (G1201 .F7H353 1984)
In 5 volumes: Vol. 1 covers Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. See especially pp. 3-17 (Boundary history of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania) and p. 29 (Delaware boundary chronology).







Scanned Historical Maps

Links to pages which offer scanned printed maps of Delaware. Current and archived PDF Delaware topographic maps (from DataMIL) are linked from the State Maps & Data guide.

 

From: Historic Map Collection: Maps of Delaware & the Mid-Atlantic Region, University of Delaware Library Digital Collection.

The Wedge and the Delaware Divide

  • Wedge (border) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Now recognized as part of Delaware, the Wedge is a small tract of land along the borders of Delaware, Maryland and Pennsylvania. Ownership of the land was disputed until 1921.
  • PA/DE/MD Genealogy and “The Wedge”
    Information and maps of the sliver of land that has been counted as part of other states.
  • Delaware Hundreds
    Compiled by the Delaware Genealogical Society, site includes a map of Delaware's hundreds and a map of the hundreds for 1875 to the present.
  • Cresap’s War
    Now I Know Archives describes an 1720s border dispute between Pennsylvania and Maryland resolved using Mason and Dixon's line.

Other Online Resources

Subject Librarian for Maps

Profile Image
John A. Stevenson
Contact Info
Associate Librarian
(302) 831-8671
Send Email

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca C. Knight
Contact Info
Associate Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department,
(302) 831-1730
Send Email
Address:
Reference and Instructional Services Department, Room 117H
University of Delaware Library
181 S. College Ave.
Newark, DE 19717-5267
 
  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip