This is the "Delaware Newspapers" page of the "Delaware Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Delaware Newspapers  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/delawarenewspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Delaware Newspapers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guide

 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.

Directories

 

Saving and Printing Newspaper Articles

 

Primary Newspapers

News Journal (Wilmington, Delaware) (online database)
Database covers 1999 to present. Text only, no advertisements or graphics.

Use Advanced Search when searching for names. If the name has a middle initial, the search results will be the same whether the name is inverted or not. Ex.: "Kenton A. Williams" and "Williams, Kenton A" retrieve the same results. If the name has a middle initial that is unknown to you, use the inverted form: Williams Kenton. Names can be entered with or without punctuation.

Part of Gannett Newsstand database.

News Journal (Wilmington, Delaware) (microfilm)
Call Number: Microfilm S 7
The major daily newspaper for northern Delaware. The Library has this newspaper from 1875 to present. Other titles include Morning News and Morning Herald. Current issues in Periodicals Room.

Newark Post (online)
Website of the Newark Post.

Newark Post (Newark, Delaware)
A weekly paper published since 1910.
Microfilm S 55 -- microfilm covering 1910 to 2003 (some issues missing).
UDSpace -- digitized images covering 2001 to 2011
Other titles: Newark Post Weekly, Weekly Post; Post, and many other titles.

Wilmington Sunday Star (Wilmington, Delaware) (microfilm)
Call Number: Microfilm S 37
Publication Date: 1881-1954
Library has 1881-1954. Other titles: Sunday Star, Sunday Morning Star.

Wilmington Sunday Star. (Wilmington, Delaware) (online)
Publication Date: 1881-1949; 1949-1953; 1953-1954
Other titles: Sunday Star, Sunday Morning Star

Wilmington Sunday Star, 1953-1954, available on Google News.

Sunday Star scattered issues, 1950 available on Google News. Some issues begin with a page from the previous issue.
Note: the July 2, 1950 issue is erroneously labeled July 2, 1960.

Evening Journal (Wilmington, Delaware) (1888 to 1989) (microfilm)
Call Number: Microfilm S 39
An evening paper published daily except Sundays. The Library has this newspaper from 1888 to 1989, when it ceased publication. Other titles: Journal-Every Evening; Evening Journal and Every Evening.

Philadelphia Inquirer
Publication Date: 1860-1934; 1969-
Many Delaware stories are covered. Current issues in Periodicals Room. Other title: Philadelphia Inquirer Public Ledger (1934-1969).
Library has


Delaware State News (Dover, Delaware) (microfilm)
Call Number: Microfilm S 52
Library has 1944-1964 and 1968 to present. Current issues in Periodicals Room. Other title: Delaware State News and Maryland State News.

delawareonline
Website of the News Journal. Articles for the current week are available free on the website. Articles older than 30 days are available only to paid subscribers.

Obituaries: current week available. Link to Legacy.com site for older obituaries; covers 9/20/2010 to present.

Indexes to the News Journal

There is no official index to the News Journal.

The Wilmington Public Library has created two indexes for the (Wilmington) News Journal

Newspaper Index (Wilmington Public Library Reference Dept.)

Covers October 1988 to present. A selective index. Indexing is limited to major local or state articles. No national articles are included unless a local aspect is covered. Obituaries are not indexed unless it is a person of major importance. An average of six articles are indexed each day.

The index is searchable in the Delaware Library Catalog. Enter a search term and select "Newspaper Index (Wilmington Public Library Reference Dept.)" from the drop down menu of the search box "library."



Old Delaware Index

A card catalog. A subject and biographical index to articles in the Wilmington Morning News and Evening Journal newspapers. It also indexes selected Delaware history books. It has extensive indexing from the 1920s to 1977, with limited indexing from the 1880s to the 1920s. Obituaries are included for prominent Delawareans. There is a clippings file which accompanies the Index and provides the text of about a third of the entries. The Delaware Index is available only at the Wilmington Public Library. (The Morning News later became the News Journal.)



There is no official index to the News Journal.

      
     

    Abstracts

    Delaware Genealogical Abstracts from Newspapers (DGAN). Wilmington, DE: Delaware Genealogical Society, 1995-.
    Location: Morris Library (F163 .D45x)
    Location: Morris Library - Special Collections (Del F163 .D45x)
    Compilation of death and marriage notices. Covers 1729-1859 and 1861-1879; the 1860 Delaware Gazette is not available. Vol. 1. Deaths from the Delaware Gazette 1854-59, 61-64. Vol. 2. Marriages from the Delaware Gazette 1854-59, 1861-64. Vol. 3. Delaware Marriages and Deaths from Newspapers, 1729-1853. Vol. 4. Marriages and Deaths from the Delaware Gazette 1865-74. Vol. 5. Marriages and Deaths from the Delaware Gazette 1875-79.
    Frazier, Margaret Mendenhall. Delaware Advertiser, 1827-1831: Genealogical Abstracts. Newhall, CA: C. Boyer, 1987.
    Location: Morris Library (F163 .F73 1987)
    Location: Morris Library - Special Collections (Del F163 .F73 1987)
    A summary or quote of the information included with every name mentioned in the Delaware Advertiser in its 5 years of publication. Includes a name index.
    Hocker, Edward W. Genealogical Data Relating to the German Settlers of Pennsylvania and Adjacent Territory: From Advertisements in German Newspapers Published in Philadelphia and Germantown, 1743-1800. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1980.
    Location: Morris Library (F160 .G3 H6 1980)
    Scott, Kenneth. Abstracts from Ben Franklin's Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1748. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1975.
    Location: Morris Library (F148 .S36 1975)
    Items of genealogical interest relating to Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, and Maryland.
    Scott, Kenneth. Abstracts (Mainly Deaths) from the Pennsylvania Gazette, 1775-1783. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1976 (1991 printing).
    Location: Morris Library (F148 .A27 1976)
    Scott, Kenneth. Buried Genealogical Data: A Complete List of Addressed Letters Left in the Post Offices of Philadelphia, Chester, Lancaster, Trenton, New Castle and Wilmington between 1748 and 1780, Abstracted from the Pennsylvania Gazette. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1977.
    Location: Morris Library (F148 .S37)

    More Newspaper Sources

    • America’s Historical Newspapers database  
        
        Icon
      Digital image collection of hundreds of historic newspapers. Coverage is 1690s-1922; issues available vary by title. Can search the entire collection or limit to a publication.

      Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.

      Includes some Delaware papers: Advance, American Watchman, Delaware and Eastern-Shore Advertiser, Delaware Gazette, Delaware Patriot, Delaware State Reporter, Delaware Statesman, Mirror of the Times, Monitor, or Wilmington Weekly Repository, and Peninsular News and Advertiser.

      Also includes: the Pennsylvania Gazette 1736-1745 (colonial Delaware was part of Pennsylvania) and the Philadelphia Inquirer 1860-1922.
    • Pennsylvania Gazette (Accessible Archives) database  
        
        Icon
      Full text database with digitized page images. Covers 1728-1800.

      Related database: Pennsylvania Gazette is also included in America's Historical Newspapers.
    • LexisNexis Academic database  
        
        Icon
      Full-text articles (text without graphics) from hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers. For best search results, select the "News" section from the left menu.

      Contains Philadelphia Inquirer, 1994 to current.
    • ProQuest Newsstand database  Icon
      Full-text articles (text without graphics) for U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, the Times of London, as well as hundreds of other news sources and newswires.

      Contains Philadelphia Inquirer (text without graphics) (1983-).
    • Gannett Newsstand  Icon
      News Journal (Wilmington, Delaware) 1999 to present. (Text only, no advertisements or graphics).

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Rebecca C. Knight
    Contact Info
    Associate Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department,
    (302) 831-1730
    Send Email
    Address:
    Reference and Instructional Services Department, Room 117H
    University of Delaware Library
    181 S. College Ave.
    Newark, DE 19717-5267
     
    • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
      Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip