This is the "Home" page of the "RefWorks @ the University of Delaware" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks @ the University of Delaware  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/refworks Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Help with RefWorks?

If you have questions about RefWorks, please contact Dianna McKellar by phone or email for assistance. Contact information is provided on the right.

 

How do I open a RefWorks Account?

All UD faculty, staff, and students can open one or multiple RefWorks accounts.  The directions for opening an account are outlined below.

On-Campus Steps for Creating a RefWorks Account:

1.  Go to the following page:
http://www2.lib.udel.edu/database/refworks.html


2.  Click the connect button at the top of the page.

3.  Click “Sign up for a New Account.”

4.  Fill out the form to select your own login name and password, and click the “Create Account” button.

5.  You will receive an e-mail that contains the group code.  Save this e-mail for future use when accessing RefWorks.  If you forget the group code or delete the e-mail, feel free to contact the library to request the code.


Off-Campus Steps for Creating a RefWorks Account:

1.  Go to the following page:
http://www2.lib.udel.edu/database/refworks.html
2.  Click the connect button at the top of the page.

3.  Enter your UDelNetID and Password on the page that appears.

4.  Click “Sign up for a New Account.”

5.  Fill out the form to select your own login name and password, and click the “Create Account” button.

6.  You will receive an e-mail that contains the group code rwudel.  Save this e-mail for future use when accessing RefWorks. If you forget the group code or delete the e-mail, feel free to contact the library to request the code.

 

RefWorks

Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds!

Log on to RefWorks

 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a citation manager that allows you to import citations for books and articles into your RefWorks account, organize them in folders, and create bibliographies.  It also allows you to attach electronic versions of these articles to the citations.  For example, you could add a citation to your RefWorks account and attach a PDF of the article to the citation.  RefWorks also provides in-text citations.  These features and more are demonstrated through Library Workshops and the RefWorks Online Tutorial.

 

Basic Importing

The basic steps for importing citations into RefWorks are outlined in the RefWorks Flier.  A step-by-step example of importing citations from EBSCO databases is also provided.

 

Database-Specific Instructions for Importing

The steps for importing citations into RefWorks vary, depending on which database you are searching.  Step-by-step instructions for importing citations, based on the database that you are searching are provided in the file below.

 

Organizing and Managing References

Refworks allows users to organize references into folders and subfolders.  Bibliographies can be generated in a variety of ciation styles using the citations in a folder.  Learn more about organizing and managing references.

 

Using Write-N-Cite 4

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.  This guide provides information about using Write-N-Cite 4.  

 

Creating a RIS File for Download to Sakai

To create an RIS file from RefWorks, click "References" in the gray bar at the top of RefWorks, then select "Export."  Use the first drop-down menu to indicate the references to include.  Use the second drop-down menu to select Bibliographic Software as the Export format.  Click the Export button.  In the browser window that will appear, select "File," then click "Save Page As."  Name the file, and   save it to a location of your choosing.  This will create a text or .txt file.  You will be able to import the resulting text file as RIS in Sakai.

Uploading your Citations into Sakai:

  1. Go to "Resources" in any Sakai site, and then use the "Add" drop-down from the folder you wish to import to, selecting "Add Citation List" as your choice.  You can always import citations in My Workspace, but, by default, only instructors can do this is course sites.

  2. Select "Import Citations."

  3. Next to "Import File From," enter the path to the file you wish to import, or click "Browse" to locate the file. 

  4. When the file name appears in the box, click "Import." The citations from your file will appear in the citations list.

Note: In some instances, when the citations originate from a Library database, the entire article is made available online in Sakai.

Additional information on loading RIS files into Sakai is available on this Web site:

http://www.udel.edu/sakai/help/content/current/sakai_resources/avcd.html

For assistance using Sakai, please contact the IT Support Center.

Subject Librarian

 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip