A-Z List of Databases for Finding Articles
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records in existence today covering the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and affiliated organizations publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. Coverage: Dates vary; Some publications from 1954 to present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowApproximately a third of the world's current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards. 1988 to present; select content back to 1950.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowAn index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. Includes public policy literature in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish—periodicals, books, and government documents.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPeer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides access to the world’s literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. The database includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 1,700 serial publications, abstracts of conference papers presented at various sociological association meetings, relevant dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, enhanced bibliographic citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected sociology books.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A reference and citation index comprised of several databases that can be searched as a whole or individually. Provides access to data from scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia. workshops, and conventions across the world. To search in a subset rather than all components at once, select a database and then select the desired index or indices in the “Editions” dropdown menu.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in-depth law-related information. Please note: This is a challenging database to use. Reach out to the legal studies librarian for assistance.
