Literature Searching - EDUC 618 - Intro to School Psychology - Research Guides at University of Delaware

Databases for Education Scholars

Education Source
Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. It includes full text for more than 2000 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers. It also includes citations for over four million articles.
ERIC [EBSCOhost]
ERIC is the premier U.S. national bibliographic database of education literature, covering published journal articles as well as non-periodical, document literature (such as master's theses and ERIC digests). ERIC documents published prior to 1966 are available on microfiche in the Microforms area on the lower level of the Library.
ERIC [ProQuest]
Citations and abstracts to articles in education journals and documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training and development; library and information science. (Coverage: 1966 --) Note: ERIC will be significantly reducing the number of records indexed going forward. The collection is expected to be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025. This change follows a federal directive aimed at reducing overall government spending and reallocating resources under Executive Order 14222.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
Provides periodical and journal articles on education from preschool to college, and specialties such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing and administration.

Many other disciplines are closely tied to the study of education. The following databases, while not specific to education, can be helpful for education researchers:

APA PsycINFO
This database indexes articles in psychology journals, chapters in books, dissertations and other psychology resources. This database is an excellent choice for topics relating to educational psychology, counseling, special education, student motivation etc.
Sociological Abstracts
This database indexes the world's scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines. It is an excellent choice for researchers investigating social aspects of education.

Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database is an excellent choice for research on language and literacy topics such as reading instruction, language acquisition, phonological awareness and related topics.
Sports Medicine and Education Index
This database indexes the literature of physical education including peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines and articles from the popular press. This is an excellent database for topics such as motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, coaching and sport psychology.
OECD iLibrary
Books, papers, and statistics released by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and development. Includes international educational statistics such as international student assessments, teachers' salaries, and education expenditure.

These databases cover materials in all subjects, including education, and can be excellent choices for exploring interdisciplinary topics.

DELCAT
Online catalog of the University of Delaware Library. Includes records for material on order and in process, as well as course reserves. Does not include periodical articles.

JSTOR
This database is an excellent choice for searching through older, high-quality journal literature.
Academic OneFile
This is an excellent database for searching for professional publications for educators in addition to scholarly sources.
Web of Science
Web of Science allows for searching for cited authors or cited works. This database is an excellent choice for discovering seminal, highly cited works on a topic.
Scopus
Like web of science, this citation and abstracting database covers all subjects and can help you to search by citation, or compare journals along different measures of quality.

Learn more about using Scopus at Elsevier's Scopus LibGuide..

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a cross-disciplinary research methods tool. It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, sample datasets and videos about designing and conducting a research project, specific research methods, performing a literature review and writing about research results.
JoVE Science Education
This streaming video collection is designed for educators and students to teach and learn key concepts and fundamental scientific techniques through video demonstrations. Subject-based collections cover a wide range of STEM subjects.
JoVE Video Journal is a companion to JoVE Science Education. It is a video methods journal consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols in the physical and life sciences.

Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware
This database is a subset of the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database. It contains only University of Delaware dissertations and theses. See below for detailed information about included dates and content coverage.
Includes:
- All University of Delaware dissertations: full text from 1948 to present.
- University of Delaware Master’s theses: full text from 1980 to the present. NOTE: Most UD master’s theses are not available in this database. This is NOT a complete collection of UD master’s theses.
- Winterthur Program in Early American Culture theses: full text 1970s to fall 2009
- Longwood Graduate Program in Public Horticulture theses: full text 2006 to present
Use the library catalog, DELCAT, to search for all print or microform copies of master’s theses 1980 – 2009 that are NOT available in Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware. For dissertations and theses from 2007 and later, it is possible, using Advanced Search, to limit by academic department.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.

Advanced Search Statements

Once you understand searching with keywords, you can combine those words in different ways.

OR - use this combining word when you have words that describe the same concept or phenomenon. Always enclose your OR statements with parenthesis to create a group of words that can be interchanged.
- Ex) (disabilities OR autism OR "hearing impaired")
AND - Use this when combining different concepts. When combining OR statements with a different concept, the AND should go outside the parenthesis.
Quotation Marks - Use quotation marks around phrases. If you want two words to show up next to each other, you need to enclose them in quotation marks.
- Ex) (disabilities OR autism OR "hearing impaired") AND "mobility aid"

Google Scholar

When using Google Scholar, it helps to have the UD Get It link enabled to make finding your articles through the library easier.

1) Go to google scholar and click on Settings

2) Click on Library Links from the left hand navigation column, type in University of Delaware, and check off the box next to Get It.