Research Guides: HDFS 637: Program Planning, Assessment, and Evaluation: Article Searching

Databases for Human Development and Family Sciences Scholars

Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in magazines, journals, books, and more in the areas of family science, human ecology, health, and human development.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers key areas of education and related fields of study. It's a great place to look for information on early childhood education, special education and similar topics.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the world's scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines. It is an excellent choice for researchers investigating social aspects of human services.
Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage includes journal articles and dissertations.
Can also be searched as part Sociological Abstracts.
Videatives This link opens in a new window
A streaming service of short video clips demonstrating scenarios in child development and education.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database covers a wide variety of resources and is a great alternative to Google Scholar.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the world's scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines. It is an excellent choice for researchers investigating social aspects of human services and families.
Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers literature related to health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. It provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage includes journal articles and dissertations.
Can also be searched as part Sociological Abstracts.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide related to criminal justice and criminology.

ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the premier U.S. national bibliographic database of education literature, covering published journal articles as well as non-periodical, document literature (such as master's theses and ERIC digests). ERIC documents published prior to 1966 are available on microfiche in the Microforms area on the lower level of the Library.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the literature of physical education including peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines and articles from the popular press. This is an excellent database for topics such as motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, coaching and sport psychology.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is an excellent choice for research on language and literacy topics such as reading instruction, language acquisition, phonological awareness and related topics.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes articles in psychology journals, chapters in books, dissertations and other psychology resources. This database is an excellent choice for topics relating to counseling, special education, student motivation etc.
PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new window
This database contains a collection of textbooks, journals, DSM-5 and key resources in diagnosis, treatment, and research. The DSM Library contains past editions of the DSM as well as clinical cases and Handbook of Differential Diagnosis.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. It is a collection of more than 700,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications.
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues.
Contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid-1970s. Additional archival material continues to be added.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Provides indexing and abstracts for essential sources including: journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the social, political and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers key areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas.

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. Government, Politics & Law. Provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional publications, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. Also has subject specialized databases, such as, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America.
Contains thousdand of law-related journals on a variety of subjects, all dating back to inception with over 90% available through the current issue or volume. Subject related collections are often curated and made available.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database coverage includes journals, books, and reports from governments in the subject areas of public and social policy.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher Plus Archive explores a single “hot” issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and wellness research designed especially for the layperson. It contains indexing to medical journals and consumer health magazines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
Databases:

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new window
This online library provides access to the DSM-V as well as a collection of eBooks, textbooks, and journals produced by the American Psychiatric Association.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health disturbances resulting from traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage for over 2,860 publications, many available in full text.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 2,300 journals all disciplines of business—accounting, marketing, management, MIS, finance and economics.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information from newspapers, the legal literature, Accounting and other sources on a variety of topics.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.

Search Strategies

There are a few ways you can approach your research. The strategies you choose will depend on your topic, the databases you're using, and the type of reasearch you're conducting.

Keyword searching with boolean operators - Searching with 1-2 word phrases that describe your topic and combining them with the boolean operators AND/ OR. Use this strategy for most library databases since they don't have natural language search capabilities.

Natural language searching - Searching with long phrases or natural speaking patterns in the search bar. This works with AI tools and Google scholar.

Citation tracking - This strategy involves identifying an article closely related to your topic and tracking down both artilcles that the author has cited and other articles that cite the one the one that you've found. Google Scholar is often the best tool for this strategy because you can copy and paste a citation to search for it or use the "cited by" link beneath an article to pull up other articles that cite your original article.

Pronged search - Sometimes you'll need to research concepts separately, then use your knowledge to synthesize them in your project. To do this, you'll identify which concepts have been researched together and which ones have not. Then you can design your search to match that need. You may need the help of a librarian do design this search.

Google Scholar

When using Google Scholar, it helps to have the UD Get It link enabled to make finding your articles through the library easier.

1) Go to google scholar and click on Settings

2) Click on Library Links from the left hand navigation column, type in University of Delaware, and check off the box next to Get It.