JSTOR Open Access eBooks
- JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new windowTitles are available from University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, UCL Press, and Cornell University Press. Each ebook carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher. The titles have no DRM restrictions and there are no limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing. Users will not need to register or log in to JSTOR to access the titles.
Further Reading On Finding OER
Interactive Open Educational Resources: a Guide to Finding, Choosing, and Using What's Out There to Transform College Teaching by Publication Date: 2013This book demonstrates the best tools, resources, and techniques for discovering, selecting, and integrating interactive open educational resources (OERs) into the teaching and learning process.
OER Repositories and Tips
It's best to search in an OER repository as a starting point, using the browse functions when available to locate materials by education level, material type, and subject. Limitations to / differences between the search algorithms on these repositories make a one-size-fits-all approach difficult, so try to be flexible when considering the key words you are using to search.
- MERLOT IIA curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services. All the materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection and many undergo a more extensive peer review.
- OER CommonsLaunched in 2007, this vast collection of open resources includes many types of learning objects including full simulations and interactive materials, tutorials, and full courses. It has powerful searching and browsing functionality to aid those seeking content.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaA tool for discovering public domain and openly licensed content held by the United States' archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Not all material included here is fully open for use, but rights information is included.
- Teaching CommonsThe Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities.
- Kahn AcademyContains thousands of video tutorials on subjects such as mathematics, history, finance, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, and economics. Focus is K-16.
- OASISOASIS offers users worldwide the ability to search a range of OER materials including textbooks, courses and corresponding materials, interactive simulations, public domain books, audiobooks, modules, open access books, videos and podcasts on a variety of topics — from anthropology to zoology. Users can limit searches by creative commons licenses or by faculty review.
- Humanities CommonsA great resource for open educational materials as well as open access scholarship in the humanities.
- OER Metafinderthe OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials including HathiTrust and NYPL digital collections
Books in the Public Domain
- Classic ReaderA collection of free eBooks that are in the public domain.
- Project GutenbergA well established digital library created through volunteer efforts. Most eBooks in the collection are in the public domain.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources. You can locate items in the public domain by limiting your search to "full view only" or year of publication.