Research Guides: Associate in Arts Library Guide: Get Started Using the Library

Welcome to the Associate in Arts Library Guide

Associate in Arts students have full access to library resources and services. This guide outlines how to access online and print resources and get started with research in your classes.

When you have questions about research or library resources, use Ask the Library or contact Lauren Wallis, the librarian for Associate in Arts.

How to Access Library Resources

Explore the tabs above for details on how to access online and physical library resources.

Access to Library Resources for Associate in Arts students

Finding Ebooks and Peer-Reviewed Articles in DELCAT

View the slides below for instructions on how to find and download ebooks and peer-reviewed articles.

Accessing Streaming Video

You can view videos through DELCAT or streaming video databases.

In DELCAT, search by keyword, film title, actor, or director. Then, use the filter on the left to narrow to "streaming video." From here, access the video using the Available Online links. See more details about searching for videos here. You can also find streaming video using specialized databases, listed below.

Swank Digital Campus Streaming Video
A collection of 1000+ classic and current feature films. Instructors may request content not currently made available to the UD community. Please note: Films provided by Swank are not viewable with the Safari browser.
Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform)
Provides access to contemporary social issues documentaries in disciplines including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health and psychology, as well as some feature films.

Full List of Streaming Video Databases
Browse databases for academic and popular films and media.

Accessing Print Books and DVDs

Associate in Arts students, faculty, and staff can request print books and DVDs through DELCAT to be delivered to your AAP campus at no cost. Get started using AAP Delivery below, and view full details about the service for additional information.

To get started, login here and set your AAP campus (Wilmington, Dover, or Georgetown) as your delivery location. Now you'll be ready to use the AAP Delivery Service whenever you locate items in DELCAT that are not available online.
When you locate a physical item in DELCAT that you'd like to request, sign into DELCAT if prompted.
Select Request, then enter your AAP campus (Wilmington, Dover, or Georgetown) and send the request.
You'll be notified via email when your material is available to pick up at the main office at your AAP location. Allow for about 5-7 days for requests to be processed and for materials to arrive through the mail.
Materials come with a return shipping label included. See full details about due dates and returning items here.

Accessing Print Book Chapters

If you only need a single chapter of a print book, you can request it through the Article DELivery Service and receive it via email as a PDF. Once you find a print book in DELCAT, sign in if prompted and then use the "Request a Book Chapter" button. From here, you'll be prompted to input details about the chapter of the book you'd like to request. You'll be notified that your chapter is available to download as PDF in about 2-3 business days.

Request a book chapter

News Articles

The resources below can help you get started finding current news coverage. Browse our newspaper guide for more information on how to access current and historical news sources.

Global Newsstream
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
New York Times (NYTimes.com)
Sign up for your free UD student subscription using the directions under "More Info."
New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)
To create your new, free account, use this link: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Existing New York Times Online Subscribers
Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com , connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.
After cancelling your existing account:
- Go to www.accessnyt.com.
- Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
- Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
- Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
- Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
- Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.
Tips and Troubleshooting:
- Students will have access until they graduate.
- Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
- If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
- After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass .
- You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
Washington Post Online
Register for your free UD student access using the directions under "Description."
Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.
Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:
- 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
- 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Washington Post
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com)
Sign up for your free UD student subscription using the directions under "More Info."
Registration Instructions
*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*
- Step 1: Click on this link: http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
- Step 2: Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
- Step 3: Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt.
- Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.

Leisure Reading and Viewing

Explore popular fiction and nonfiction, films, and television series using the resources below. Additionally, if you know a specific title of a film, show, or book, you can search for it in DELCAT to see if the library has access.

Curated Collections - Books and Films
Themed collections of books and films curated by UD librarians.

Libby eBooks and Audiobooks
A curated leisure reading collection of new and popular e-books and audiobooks. Your first step is to download the Libby app to your device. Titles in the Library's Libby Collection can be searched or browsed by logging into the app or searching DELCAT.

Learn more about downloading and using Libby.
Swank Digital Campus Streaming Video
A collection of 1000+ classic and current feature films. Instructors may request content not currently made available to the UD community. Please note: Films provided by Swank are not viewable with the Safari browser.

Visiting Morris Library

Associate in Arts students are welcome to visit Morris Library on the UD campus in Newark for access to study space and to check out books and multimedia equipment. Bring your UD ONEcard or another form of photo ID to enter the library, and use the Passport Parking app for hourly parking in the library lot.

View full details about visiting Morris Library here.

Reserve a Study Room
Book a study room in Morris Library. Rooms can be booked for two hours per day up to a week in advance.
Finding Books in Morris Library
This short video demonstrates how to find print books at Morris Library and check them out with your UD ONEcard.