Special Collections: African American Studies Research Guide (OLD)

Delaware Academy of Science. Iron Hill Museum. Iron Hill Museum Oral History recordings and transcripts: The Iron Hill Museum oral history collection consists of 37 interviews (recorded on 59 audio cassettes) documenting the history of the Iron Hill School #112C, which was one of the African American schools built in Delaware with funds provided by Pierre S. du Pont. Additional interviews in this collection document life in the Iron Hill community and nearby Pleasant Valley, as well as education provided in a few other Delaware schools in Hockessin, Milton, and Claymont. Call # MSS 587.

Robert H. Richards, Jr., Delaware Oral History collection 1955-1981: The Delaware Oral History collection was a project of the University of Delaware History Department, directed by Dr. John Munroe and funded by Robert H. Richards, Jr.. Interviews with 317 Delawareans conducted between 1966 and 1978 cover topics including the following: educators, immigrants, journalism, politics, and the University of Delaware, Delaware in the Depression, and the 1950s relocation of Long Island and New Jersey potato farmers to Delaware. Call # MSS 179.

Delaware Afro-Latina oral histories collection (MSS 661):  This collection of raw and edited footage of interviews of Newark, Delaware, area Afro-Latinas was created in Spring 2009 by students in a Women's Studies course (WOMS 410) at the University of Delaware. Included are Mini-DV tapes containing raw footage of the interviews and DVDs containing the edited interviews. Call # MSS 661.

New London Road/Cleveland Avenue oral histories and research materials   Collection contains 22 oral history interviews providing a wealth of information on history and culture of the New London Road/Cleveland Avenue community in Newark, Delaware. These interviews, collected during two oral history projects by University of Delaware Professor Bernard L. Herman and students from 2004-2006, feature members of the New London Road community and discuss various aspects of life in the predominantly African-American community. The collection contains transcripts of selected interviews created by students as well as research data, recipes, and galley proofs for the book "Food Always Brings People Together: recipes, poems, and stories from the New London Road community, Newark, Delaware," written by the University of Delaware Center for Material Culture Studies, under the direction of Professor Herman.  Call #: MSS 642.