Finding Scholarly Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more – essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
This collection of databases is but a small sample of what UD subscribes to. For a full list of what we have, go to our "Databases" page and search for "Arts & Humanities Databases" from the "Browse by Subject" list.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of more than 8,000 journals covering all subject areas. - Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources, and more.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes a wide range of scholarship, such as working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly. Working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and economic indicators are augmented every month. Links and resources, the schedule of events, and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowSearch for past dissertations and theses from UD and other institutions. Keep in mind, abstracts are only available for non-UD institutions. You can request a full dissertation through InterLibrary Loan.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of more than 2,000 journals and more than 25,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Included are peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, and academic monographs. JSTOR includes material in more than 75 disciplines including area studies, the arts, business and economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine and allied health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOne of the best sources for current information, especially from newspapers or wire services. Most of the citations have full text of the article. Also includes full text articles from selected magazines and journals.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. Includes public policy literature in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish—periodicals, books, and government documents. - Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Journals give you the ability to search for articles on a specific topics or event. It can be an easier way to find relevant information because you are usually not sifting through a large pool of results. If you visit the E-Journals page, you can bring up a list of all the journals with subject content in History & Archeology. You can also search for a specific journal title from the E-Journals page or in DELCAT.
- Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. (Coverage:varies, some as far back as 1902; full text 1998 to the present))
Newspapers can also be considered a primary source depending on what time period you find articles from.
- African Newspapers Series I This link opens in a new windowMore than 30 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century African newspapers. Titles are from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, and elsewhere. Part of the World Newspaper Archive.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. 1959-present.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are included.
Tips & Tricks for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!