Art & Design

Gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Includes articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans and artist signatures.

An interactive, full-text eBook platform that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, design, and photography. Out-of-print titles and recent releases from academic and museum publishers, and peer-reviewed, born-digital content is also available.

An account is required to view content. Users may access the site using their existing AandAePortal credentials or create a new account. 

Offers an entirely new way for users to experience Josef Albers’ original masterwork. The website incorporates interactive features that help students understand the book’s fundamental concepts, study the plates, and experiment with their own designs.

Indexing and full text (including covers and advertisements) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015). Provides a history of collecting over the course of the 20th century, as well as a comprehensive record of fine arts, art history, interior design, decorative arts, and architecture. (Coverage: 20th - early 21st centuries)

Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --,   Indexes, 1929-1984)

Partial Open Access. Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access and preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.

A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)

Covers hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Contains comprehensive television periodical indexing until 2000. TV-related articles from film periodicals continue to be indexed. (Coverage: 1972 --) See below for information about silent era film archives.

Bliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. (Coverage: 1940 --)

The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.

Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)

Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)